Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pattern tissue strengthening (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5431 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Posted by: Angie Jones
photo
Friend of PR
About Angie Jones
GA USA
Member since: 12/29/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/10 6:26 AM
When I want to cut the original pattern, but also want to strengthen it for repeat uses, I use a layer of dry cleaners plastic layered between the pattern and a piece of white gift wrap tissue. The cost is essentially free and the resulting pattern piece is much easier to work with. Simply iron the layers with a medium-hot, dry iron and then cut out your pattern.
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
I am glad that you added the part about ironing them together as I did not quite understand this tip the first time I read it on the boards. Great tip!
1/18/10 6:39 PM
KNguyen said...
I'm sorry, but I don't get it. Is it 2 layers of plastic, each on the outside, with the tissue inside? Sorry to bother!
1/18/10 6:51 PM
homejewel said...
Thank you for reposting this again - now it makes sense. KNguyen - I think it's the other way around: the top layer is the original pattern piece, then the dry cleaner's plastic is in the middle, and the bottom layer is white gift wrap tissue. The whole thing is then ironed. I'll have to give this a try.
1/18/10 10:22 PM
fourkid said...
Very interesting - I will have to try this.
1/19/10 7:16 AM
jorgel said...
This is a very interesting idea. Thanks so much for the tip, I will have to try this.
1/19/10 7:50 AM
ryansmumAria said...
oh how clever~
1/19/10 8:07 AM
Angie Jones said...
Yes, homejewel is correct. Use a single layer of the plastic between two layers of tissue paper. When ironed, the plastic melts and "glues" the two tissues together, forming a stronger, crisper sheet than the pattern tissue by itself. I might also note that you should iron the creases out of your pattern tissue paper before you begin this process so as to not permanently iron in distortions to the original pattern shape.
1/19/10 10:09 AM
Patzee said...
Does ironing the plastic create fumes?
1/19/10 10:17 PM
Angie Jones said...
Patzee, no I've never noticed even a slight odor.
1/20/10 8:03 AM
Living Beauty said...
Hi, Angie Jones! This looks like a great tip. I haven't used it, yet, but plan to, the next pattern I use. Good work!
1/20/10 7:23 PM
LizBa said...
I'll have to give this a try!
1/24/10 4:46 PM
kareece said...
Will you be able to fold the pattern afterwards? Will the layers separate if you do fold the pattern piece?
1/26/10 8:02 AM
Angie Jones said...
kareece, I do fold the pattern pieces afterward, but ususally I don't try to get them back into the pattern envelope. I put everything into a zip lock bag for storage. I haven't noticed the pieces seperating, but if they do you could just re-iron them.
1/27/10 8:34 AM
M.S. said...
Good idea. I could fix my tattered men's pants patterns that I use for DH this way!
1/28/10 8:41 AM
Mc Donna said...
Clever! I bet it would make tissue fitting a whole lot easier as well. Thanks for this.
2/7/10 11:04 AM
eej713 said...
I buy that really cheap iron on stabilizer by the bolt and use that to strengthen my tissue or paper patterns. Anything that will get a lot of use, like doll clothes patterns or a favorite blouse that I make many times.
2/10/10 9:24 AM
tojoyamoto said...
Great idea!
2/11/10 7:45 AM
tignor said...
I love this idea (I've used Simplicity 2613s than I can count...thank goodness for $1 sales) but where do you get dry cleaning plastic?
2/15/10 1:42 PM
tignor said...
I love this idea (I've used Simplicity 2613s than I can count...thank goodness for $1 sales)! but is this the plastic that comes over your finished dry cleaned clothes? Would grocery bags or other plastic bags work?
2/15/10 1:45 PM
Angie Jones said...
tignor, yes this is the thin plastic bags that come over your cleaned clothing from the dry cleaners. I haven't used grocery or other plastic bags. I always have plenty of the dry cleaners bags so I've never needed to try the others.
2/16/10 2:27 PM
jso4fun said...
This is a great idea! I've ironed plastic bags from the grocery store in other projects and they "melt" and adhere just fine. They do wrinkle, but IMHO it's worth a try with some blank tissue paper to try to use them for this technique.
5/9/10 0:05 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Does this work the same as ironing freezer paper to the pattern tissue or is this stronger? Thanks!
9/20/10 3:13 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us