SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pattern tissue strengthening

Viewed 5602 times
Posted by: Angie Jones
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Angie Jones
GA USA
Member since: 12/29/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/18/10 6:26 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
When I want to cut the original pattern, but also want to strengthen it for repeat uses, I use a layer of dry cleaners plastic layered between the pattern and a piece of white gift wrap tissue. The cost is essentially free and the resulting pattern piece is much easier to work with. Simply iron the layers with a medium-hot, dry iron and then cut out your pattern.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
I am glad that you added the part about ironing them together as I did not quite understand this tip the first time I read it on the boards. Great tip!
1/18/10 6:39 PM
KNguyen said...
I'm sorry, but I don't get it. Is it 2 layers of plastic, each on the outside, with the tissue inside? Sorry to bother!
1/18/10 6:51 PM
homejewel said...
Thank you for reposting this again - now it makes sense. KNguyen - I think it's the other way around: the top layer is the original pattern piece, then the dry cleaner's plastic is in the middle, and the bottom layer is white gift wrap tissue. The whole thing is then ironed. I'll have to give this a try.
1/18/10 10:22 PM
fourkid said...
Very interesting - I will have to try this.
1/19/10 7:16 AM
jorgel said...
This is a very interesting idea. Thanks so much for the tip, I will have to try this.
1/19/10 7:50 AM
ryansmumAria said...
oh how clever~
1/19/10 8:07 AM
Angie Jones said...
Yes, homejewel is correct. Use a single layer of the plastic between two layers of tissue paper. When ironed, the plastic melts and "glues" the two tissues together, forming a stronger, crisper sheet than the pattern tissue by itself. I might also note that you should iron the creases out of your pattern tissue paper before you begin this process so as to not permanently iron in distortions to the original pattern shape.
1/19/10 10:09 AM
Patzee said...
Does ironing the plastic create fumes?
1/19/10 10:17 PM
Angie Jones said...
Patzee, no I've never noticed even a slight odor.
1/20/10 8:03 AM
Living Beauty said...
Hi, Angie Jones! This looks like a great tip. I haven't used it, yet, but plan to, the next pattern I use. Good work!
1/20/10 7:23 PM
LizBa said...
I'll have to give this a try!
1/24/10 4:46 PM
kareece said...
Will you be able to fold the pattern afterwards? Will the layers separate if you do fold the pattern piece?
1/26/10 8:02 AM
Angie Jones said...
kareece, I do fold the pattern pieces afterward, but ususally I don't try to get them back into the pattern envelope. I put everything into a zip lock bag for storage. I haven't noticed the pieces seperating, but if they do you could just re-iron them.
1/27/10 8:34 AM
M.S. said...
Good idea. I could fix my tattered men's pants patterns that I use for DH this way!
1/28/10 8:41 AM
Mc Donna said...
Clever! I bet it would make tissue fitting a whole lot easier as well. Thanks for this.
2/7/10 11:04 AM
eej713 said...
I buy that really cheap iron on stabilizer by the bolt and use that to strengthen my tissue or paper patterns. Anything that will get a lot of use, like doll clothes patterns or a favorite blouse that I make many times.
2/10/10 9:24 AM
tojoyamoto said...
Great idea!
2/11/10 7:45 AM
tignor said...
I love this idea (I've used Simplicity 2613s than I can count...thank goodness for $1 sales) but where do you get dry cleaning plastic?
2/15/10 1:42 PM
tignor said...
I love this idea (I've used Simplicity 2613s than I can count...thank goodness for $1 sales)! but is this the plastic that comes over your finished dry cleaned clothes? Would grocery bags or other plastic bags work?
2/15/10 1:45 PM
Angie Jones said...
tignor, yes this is the thin plastic bags that come over your cleaned clothing from the dry cleaners. I haven't used grocery or other plastic bags. I always have plenty of the dry cleaners bags so I've never needed to try the others.
2/16/10 2:27 PM
jso4fun said...
This is a great idea! I've ironed plastic bags from the grocery store in other projects and they "melt" and adhere just fine. They do wrinkle, but IMHO it's worth a try with some blank tissue paper to try to use them for this technique.
5/9/10 0:05 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Does this work the same as ironing freezer paper to the pattern tissue or is this stronger? Thanks!
9/20/10 3:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.