SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Use Your Flatiron On Wide Bias Tape

Viewed 5357 times
Posted by: sosoatsewing
photo

 
 
About sosoatsewing star
OH USA
Member since: 9/22/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/31/10 10:27 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
I made my daughter a Simplicity nightgown pattern that called for you to iron the wide bias tape used flat. The garment took quite a bit of bias tape, and ironing all that tape flat was less that thrilling. I remember even burning myself doing it.

Yesterday I made the gown again. This time an idea hit me. I went into the bathroom, grabbed my flatiron and used that to iron the bias tape. Easy and simple. Open the tape up and place in the flat iron, use your other hand to pull it through. Once I got a rhytmn of sorts going, the folded parts opened themselves up as they slid into the flat iron.

This was much quicker to me than opening up all the tape and ironing it on an ironing board. Maybe it will work for you too!

I don't know if this would work with a cheap $20 flatiron, as I have a professional model, but it's worth a try!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Amazonium said...
Great idea! I have burned my fingers so many times trying to hold a small fiddly piect of fabric down while trying to press it. These tips are why I visit this place often- you really CAN teach an old dog (me) new tricks! Thanks!
1/31/10 12:48 PM
Andee said...
When you say flatiron, what do you mean? Is that a hair iron, like a crimper?
2/1/10 7:30 AM
Fran G said...
Smart idea!
2/1/10 7:35 AM
ladybegood said...
OMG, you are a genius! I already keep my flatiron near my sewing area since that's my best mirror, but I never thought to use it for sewing. I too have a professional model, so it'll be nice to get some extra use out of it.
2/1/10 10:49 AM
sosoatsewing said...
Yes Andee, the flat iron used to straighten heir.
2/1/10 1:24 PM
RobinMCPA said...
What a great idea! Thanks for posting this. I will try this next time!
2/1/10 3:26 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Great tip!
2/5/10 2:51 AM
1961 said...
I'll have to try this so I don't burn my fingers. Also, one can use a curling iron to straighten creased ribbon. Maybe it would also work to press bias tape flat?
2/10/10 10:54 AM
Fictionfan said...
When I saw the title for your tip, I thought it meant a mini-iron or an old-fashioned iron. You mention getting yours out of your bathroom. By flatiron, do you mean a hair ironing device? Does the flatiron have a temperature adjustment? Sounds like a great way to handle a long strip of bias tape!
2/10/10 8:09 PM
pieraci2 said...
What a great idea!!! I burnt my fingers, too. Thank you!
2/16/10 7:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.