SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > stop blouses from gapping at bustline

Viewed 5397 times
Posted by: DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE
photo

 
 
About DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE star
MB CANADA
Member since: 12/2/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/12/10 9:13 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
I made a button down blouse and couldn't find buttons of the appropriate size for it. The ones that were the correct colour were just too small.

Also, fitted blouses often gap immodestly when you're not 'posing just so'..... sigh

Fixed two problems at once by buying the smaller buttons. The blouse called for 5 buttons, so I bought 10 and spaced them in twos.

I measured where the buttons should go, and placed one small button half an inch or so above that space, and another one half an inch or so below the regular button placement.

I put it on, pinned it to see how it 'stood' and it was better than using regular buttons.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Teeavilnor said...
any photos?
2/12/10 11:44 AM
Leu said...
Thanks for the tip!
2/12/10 4:11 PM
paulakiss said...
I have that problem with shirts. Thanks for the idea!
2/13/10 0:44 AM
elsew said...
....and it added a very nice design element also...great little hint!
2/13/10 8:32 AM
katie lynne said...
This sounds like a fun design element!
2/13/10 4:40 PM
Longarm said...
I blame all this kind of stuff (in my case) on the fact that I have scoliosis -sway back and general lousy posture. Is your posture the reason in your case, do you think? There are adjustments to the pattern that can be made for the ways in which the spine is not aligned in the perfect way, and that really makes clothes fit and hang better.
2/16/10 6:16 PM
RSadams said...
Longarm, dou you have any sites or suggestions for making such alterations? My daughter has scoli. She's 19, has a 12 degree angle, and for many years wore only baggy clothes and jackets. Now she is really beginning to embrace pretty clothes and it is sad to see her excited to try something pretty on, and disappointment when a garment doesn't "fit right". She has a lovely slim hourglass figure, but a small rounding on her shoulders. How can I compensate for this?
3/31/10 12:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.