SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > protecting and getting to know your sewing machine(s)

Viewed 5363 times
Posted by: CathrynR
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CathrynR star
NH USA
Member since: 6/26/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/17/10 10:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
I have been working on covers for my machines, and today I decided to let each machine make it's own cover. Now it occurs to me that covers can be very personal and offer a good chance to get to know your machine (if it is new to you). Try out your machines capabilities..add pockets, loops for holding stuff, applique on it, decorative stitching, etc. You will get to know your machine and it will have it's own personal cover when you are done.---This would work for sergers too. Sticking a small note pad in the cover pocket (which you have made) can keep track of what needle/settings you have left in the machine when you go back to it some time later.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lca said...
I'm taking a machine orientation class Saturday and we will be sewing out all the stitches on our machine. I think I will take a large enough piece of fabric to make a cover. I think this is a great idea!
2/17/10 3:02 PM
Charrlie said...
I like your idea !!!
2/18/10 0:13 AM
Brine said...
I like your idea! Especially keeping a note pad in the cover to keep track of the needle/settings. It might also be a good idea for me to write "sewing reminders" for my current project on the pad as well; for example, making note of an unusual seam allowance or sewing order.
2/18/10 11:50 AM
medicine stone said...
I was already thinking of making a cover and you have given my more ideas to make it useful thanks
2/24/10 3:00 PM
MerryMe said...
Great tip, never thought about making pockets on the cover, makes me think of a lot of things I could add to mine. Thank You
3/19/10 9:01 AM
harleysistert said...
I like your idea. The pocket could also be a good place to keep a running list of needed supplies.
3/28/10 10:20 PM
shoppern said...
Love your pocket idea!! Thanks.
5/28/10 8:39 PM
Princess Aurora said...
Excellent idea! Wish I would have read this before I finish my machine covers! Perhaps this will be just the excuse I need to make new ones! LOL!
7/3/10 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.