SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Bernina Feet Storage

Viewed 6057 times
Posted by: Gildarose
photo

 
 
About Gildarose
Member since: 11/22/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/21/10 8:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
I am a new Bernina owner and just love my machine but storing the feet has been a problem for me. I have looked at the storage options on the market and they just did not work for me. There is one older Bernina storage box that is on Ebay that seems like it would work great but it only holds 13 feet. I was searching EBay for a drawer storage divider type box and saw something that reminded me of the old ice trays we all used to have. I thought I would try it & see. I found one of mine and put my feet in it and it is just perfect for me. They do not fall over and I can see the numbers easily & could get all 16 feet in it. [ 2 spaces left] and it fits in my drawer nicely and takes up VERY little room. They are easily seen and very accessible. My ice tray is white and goes with it's surroundings. This just made my day. If I get more feet I can add another tray. If this has been on here before , I am sorry.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


18 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
Cool idea! (sorry for the pun!) I've heard of people using small tackle boxes for storage, too.
2/21/10 11:20 PM
Living Beauty said...
Thank you for the suggestion/tip! If it has been submitted before, it was great seeing it again! I'm a newer member!
2/22/10 0:26 AM
Mary A Hodge said...
What a clever idea!
2/22/10 4:23 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
What machine did you buy?
2/22/10 8:26 AM
OP Gal said...
I'm surprised that a storage cabinet didn't come with your Bernina. I bought a 240 about a year ago, and it had a great little foot storage cabinet with it. I'm glad you found something that works so well for you.
2/22/10 9:06 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great idea! I have my sewing machine feet in a small plastic box (for crafts or bolts and screws) which works well. However, I like this idea as you can put it in an existing drawer and everything is visible. thanks!
2/22/10 9:47 AM
Gildarose said...
JoaniesJosh I found a new Artista 165. It is just wonderful! You know since you asked which machine, the ice tray may not work with the new style feet with the eye. My feet are the 'new style' but only the auto button hole foot has an eye. Thanks! OP Gal, a acc. box did come with my machine, but only holds a few feet. I looked at the chest type and they are very nice but my space on my cabinet top is limited and it would have been in my way. The ice tray only takes up a very little space in my top drawer of my cabinet and also I love the fact 'no top/lid ' to deal with . thanks!
2/22/10 10:48 AM
JanyceR said...
I think this is a great idea! I am going to try it out. I don't care for the Barbie Box that comes with the newer Bernina's and your idea seems ideal!
2/22/10 8:35 PM
medicine stone said...
good idea....you use that many feet?
2/24/10 2:59 PM
SandiMacD said...
How creative! I have been racking my brains for nearly 4 years on what to do with all those feet that don't fit in the feet storage section. I hate having to open and shut plastic boxes to access my feet. I have been known to use 4-5 on a garment and find them on the floor, cats bat around, and even fallen into the dustbin. I am going to dig out my old ice tray right now and put it into the drawer of my sewing cabinet. Thanks!
2/27/10 0:19 AM
diamondbunch said...
I had the similar problem, I have 18 feet for my Bernina 830, I searched all around for months, until I went to Michael's for the 50th time and found a plastic box that measures approx. 10 1/2 by 8 with compartments and what I did, I labled each compartment matching the foot number and I had some extra compartments. So I cut the dividers out and it made room for the gadgets that come with the machine and bobbins. Hope this helps
3/1/10 1:30 PM
freja71 said...
Great idea. Thanks!
3/2/10 10:05 AM
freja71 said...
Great idea. Thanks!
3/2/10 10:06 AM
Xmaseve1 said...
As mentioned in another post, a fishing tackle box has many compartments that lend themselves to your storage needs. The 2-sided ones or the kind that have hinged trays work really well. I prefer the translucent, 2-sided ones because they make it easy to see what's on each side.
3/9/10 10:51 AM
Tainsh said...
Good tip, I have two Berninas they use different feet. I keep my feet, bobbins and extra bobbin cases in fishing tackle boxes, green for the 1090 and blue for the 730. When I have a class I just grab and go.
3/26/10 9:53 AM
Kaileesmommy said...
Much better than the ziploc Maggie I'm using now! Thanks!
9/20/10 2:17 PM
Lauren Michelin said...
good tip&review. Going to try this as my feet (so many of them) are always a burden to get quickly as I store them out of harms way as they are so expensive. Wish I could see a photo as my ice trays might be different from yours. regards
5/18/12 8:39 AM
Lauren Michelin said...
good tip&review. Going to try this as my feet (so many of them) are always a burden to get quickly as I store them out of harms way as they are so expensive. Wish I could see a photo as my ice trays might be different from yours. regards
5/18/12 8:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.