SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stabilizing Swimwear fabric.

Viewed 5397 times
Posted by: Teeavilnor
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Teeavilnor star
CT USA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/27/10 1:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
I have heard of stabilizing small areas of fabric like buttonholes.But not for swimwear fabric. Mostly I find the printed lycra tends to roll on the edges. I did read a tip to zig-zag the edges this will help. But I tired it and it really wasn't much better. So yesterday I was working on another swimsuit with rolly printed fabric and thought I will stabilize the crotch area because it always seems to be the worse there. It worked ! Then I started pinning the rest and it was rolling I said OK I took out the pins and stabilized the entire suits edges. And tomorrow I will have a easy day of sewing. Only drawback is you have to let it dry overnight. But I'm in no hurry. I use OESD Helmar Sew Stable Fabric Stabilizer bucause of a tip I read here on PR.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Merry G said...
how did you stablize it? did I miss something?
2/28/10 9:26 AM
candyo said...
I don't get it either.
2/28/10 9:53 AM
Mimicj said...
Helmar Sew Stable will stabilize fabric before machine embroidery. By stabilizing the fabric with Helmar Sew Stable you will eliminate the need for a hoop and stiffen the fabric so that it dos not bunch up while you are embroidering. This product is a liquid, not aerosol spray.
2/28/10 1:19 PM
Teeavilnor said...
I stablized all the edges, brushed it on waited to dry and it was much easier to control the fabric.
2/28/10 3:20 PM
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for explaining how you used the product in your comment because I couldn' understand it just from the review. I'm going to buy some and give it a try.
3/4/10 0:15 AM
sewrelaxed said...
Does this product wash out after or leave a residue?
3/5/10 8:49 PM
sewrelaxed said...
Does this product wash out after or leave a residue?
3/5/10 8:49 PM
Teeavilnor said...
sewrelaxed: Yes, with the swimwear I just rince it out there is no residue. I use 3pts. water to 1pt stabilizer but it can be made stronger or full strength, or I imagine lesser depending what you need.
3/6/10 12:15 PM
Beryl Koster said...
Great idea! My fabric rolled worse after I washed it...not too sure if that is such a good thing to do.
3/17/12 1:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.