SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Boxcutter/ Utility Knife As A Notion

Viewed 5245 times
Posted by: sosoatsewing
photo

 
 
About sosoatsewing star
OH USA
Member since: 9/22/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/4/10 5:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
I can't tell you how many times I have accidently cut several threads on the sides (not ends) of buttonholes using my seam ripper to cut them open. I have used a button hole chisel, but found an easier way (for me) to cut open button holes than using a chisel and block...

I used a box cutter/ utility kife that was in my kitchen drawer one day. It worked great! I find I have more control with it than with a seam ripper. Use it by angling it just so the corner of the exposed blade is used for cutting, lay the item flat on a cutting mat to cut through. I now keep an extra boxcutter in my notions box just for this purpose.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JeanK said...
I like it! Thanks for the tip, I will try it.
3/4/10 6:56 PM
SandyinMO said...
I use this tool as a seam ripper all the time. I don't know why I've never thought to use it as a buttonhole cutter. I'll definitely try it next time!
3/5/10 8:31 AM
callmeRuth said...
Great idea! Thank you. I can always use another sewing notion. :)
3/5/10 10:15 AM
kws said...
Sounds dangerous.
3/6/10 11:27 AM
sosoatsewing said...
It's really not any more dangerous than using a sharp seam ripper, chisel, scissors or rotary cutter in sewing. I've poked myself with a seam ripper before, but never a box knife. Pin the ends of the button hole and you won't even be near the blade.
3/6/10 2:30 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I can't remember who it was (some sewing professional) that recommended an X-acto knife. I agree, a razor-sharp knife blade seems like it would be a lot more precise and easier to control.
3/7/10 8:43 AM
sewme47 said...
Thanks for sharing this idea...I'm going to try it!!
3/11/10 9:46 AM
catsmeow said...
Great idea! I've always used an Exacto knife. Its blade is very fine and sharp. Never did use a seam ripper because I was afraid that I would cut the buttonhole threads.
3/16/10 0:21 AM
catsmeow said...

3/16/10 0:22 AM
MerryMe said...
Great, I keep one in my sewing desk but never thought about using to cut the buttonholes open. Thanks for sharing
3/19/10 8:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.