SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Boxcutter/ Utility Knife As A Notion

Viewed 5276 times
Posted by: sosoatsewing
photo

 
 
About sosoatsewing star
OH USA
Member since: 9/22/04
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
tips added: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/4/10 5:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
I can't tell you how many times I have accidently cut several threads on the sides (not ends) of buttonholes using my seam ripper to cut them open. I have used a button hole chisel, but found an easier way (for me) to cut open button holes than using a chisel and block...

I used a box cutter/ utility kife that was in my kitchen drawer one day. It worked great! I find I have more control with it than with a seam ripper. Use it by angling it just so the corner of the exposed blade is used for cutting, lay the item flat on a cutting mat to cut through. I now keep an extra boxcutter in my notions box just for this purpose.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JeanK said...
I like it! Thanks for the tip, I will try it.
3/4/10 6:56 PM
SandyinMO said...
I use this tool as a seam ripper all the time. I don't know why I've never thought to use it as a buttonhole cutter. I'll definitely try it next time!
3/5/10 8:31 AM
callmeRuth said...
Great idea! Thank you. I can always use another sewing notion. :)
3/5/10 10:15 AM
kws said...
Sounds dangerous.
3/6/10 11:27 AM
sosoatsewing said...
It's really not any more dangerous than using a sharp seam ripper, chisel, scissors or rotary cutter in sewing. I've poked myself with a seam ripper before, but never a box knife. Pin the ends of the button hole and you won't even be near the blade.
3/6/10 2:30 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
I can't remember who it was (some sewing professional) that recommended an X-acto knife. I agree, a razor-sharp knife blade seems like it would be a lot more precise and easier to control.
3/7/10 8:43 AM
sewme47 said...
Thanks for sharing this idea...I'm going to try it!!
3/11/10 9:46 AM
catsmeow said...
Great idea! I've always used an Exacto knife. Its blade is very fine and sharp. Never did use a seam ripper because I was afraid that I would cut the buttonhole threads.
3/16/10 0:21 AM
catsmeow said...

3/16/10 0:22 AM
MerryMe said...
Great, I keep one in my sewing desk but never thought about using to cut the buttonholes open. Thanks for sharing
3/19/10 8:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.