Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Tracing Seam Allowance (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5303 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 31 people   
Posted by: monahan
photo
About monahan star
SC USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/18/03 10:46 AM
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I recently subscribed to Burda WOF and therefore began tracing my patterns onto drafting trace paper. Since Burda's patterns don't include seam allowance, I would dash in a second line 5/8" from the seam line.

Finally a eureka moment... 2 pencils held together with a rubber band. I cut cardboard spacers and inserted them between the pencils until the points were 5/8" apart.

It's not pretty, (see the web link above) but it sure gets the job done...
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Donna Isler said...
Very resourceful! Thank you !
8/18/03 11:43 AM
Deepika said...
monahan, I've been using this method too and its interesting to see how we all come up with the same things :) I guess all sewers think alike.
8/18/03 1:09 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Thanks! Sometimes simple things work awfully well.
8/18/03 1:50 PM
monahan said...
Deepika, I think you're right. It just takes some of us a little longer than others...
8/18/03 2:47 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I've been struggling with this myself, and thinking of trying to find some sort of drafting tool. This is much simpler and CHEAPER. Loved your photo. Thanks.
8/19/03 8:32 PM
Gigi Louis said...
That's a great idea!
8/19/03 8:58 PM
MadMenFanlinda said...
I copied two patterns this a.m. using your method and the results were great! I found a third pencil, but set a couple of inches higher, to be a perfect spacer. It gave me exactly 5/8" for SA. Thanks again.
8/23/03 9:02 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love the two tone colors you used t denot which is the stitching/sewing lines! I trace a lot too.
8/24/03 6:22 AM
AnneM said...
Pictures are worth a thousand words. Thanks for including yours along with the tip; it really clarifies what you are describing.
9/5/03 12:26 PM
sewingdemon said...
Very very clever...
11/28/03 3:45 AM
ReneeO said...
monahan, I read your tip some time ago and made a mental note to use it if I ever used a pattern without SA. It wasn't till tonight, that I realized I could use it now to mark the stitch line on mutisize patterns for flat pattern measurements. Duh! Thanks for the helpful tip!
4/24/04 0:40 AM
Cian said...
I love this idea and I tried to do the same thing but didn't have and cardbord for spacing. I have a drafting compass from an office supply store that seems to work just as well except there is just one side for the pencil. The other side has a pointy end so I have to e careful when I'm tracing.
6/1/04 7:03 PM
2smiley said...
Look into the double tracing wheels that are availabe in the notions section of the yardage stores.Also check out catalogs ofNancys Notions and Clotilde. I found mine in Claremont, Ca. on the notions wall of a sewing machine and Vacuumm store It has 1 handle and awide bottom with a series of slots to place the 2 adjustable tracing wheels at the amount you ne ed. 1 wheel on the sewing line and the outter wheel marks the cutting line. I'd be lost without mine
9/20/04 11:23 PM
Lesa said...
Thanks for this tip. The double wheel clover helps.
5/21/05 4:05 AM
guillorypr said...
Wow! What a clever idea, thanks!
12/5/05 10:12 AM
MCGINNHOLD said...
AWESOME!!! THANK YOU
9/4/07 7:41 PM
joydisaster said...
Now, why didn't I think of that?
10/28/07 3:00 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This IS great! Thanks!
5/16/08 2:22 PM
SoVintage said...
Ingenious, you shoul patten that idea
5/28/09 11:41 AM
putty said...
How about using a compass.
9/14/09 2:24 PM
putty said...
How about using a compass.
9/14/09 2:25 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us