SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing Seam Allowance

Viewed 5558 times
Posted by: monahan
photo

 
 
About monahan star
SC USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/18/03 10:46 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I recently subscribed to Burda WOF and therefore began tracing my patterns onto drafting trace paper. Since Burda's patterns don't include seam allowance, I would dash in a second line 5/8" from the seam line.

Finally a eureka moment... 2 pencils held together with a rubber band. I cut cardboard spacers and inserted them between the pencils until the points were 5/8" apart.

It's not pretty, (see the web link above) but it sure gets the job done...

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


21 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
putty said...
How about using a compass.
9/14/09 2:25 PM
putty said...
How about using a compass.
9/14/09 2:24 PM
SoVintage said...
Ingenious, you shoul patten that idea
5/28/09 11:41 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This IS great! Thanks!
5/16/08 2:22 PM
joydisaster said...
Now, why didn't I think of that?
10/28/07 3:00 AM
MCGINNHOLD said...
AWESOME!!! THANK YOU
9/4/07 7:41 PM
guillorypr said...
Wow! What a clever idea, thanks!
12/5/05 10:12 AM
Lesa said...
Thanks for this tip. The double wheel clover helps.
5/21/05 4:05 AM
2smiley said...
Look into the double tracing wheels that are availabe in the notions section of the yardage stores.Also check out catalogs ofNancys Notions and Clotilde. I found mine in Claremont, Ca. on the notions wall of a sewing machine and Vacuumm store It has 1 handle and awide bottom with a series of slots to place the 2 adjustable tracing wheels at the amount you ne ed. 1 wheel on the sewing line and the outter wheel marks the cutting line. I'd be lost without mine
9/20/04 11:23 PM
Cian said...
I love this idea and I tried to do the same thing but didn't have and cardbord for spacing. I have a drafting compass from an office supply store that seems to work just as well except there is just one side for the pencil. The other side has a pointy end so I have to e careful when I'm tracing.
6/1/04 7:03 PM
ReneeO said...
monahan, I read your tip some time ago and made a mental note to use it if I ever used a pattern without SA. It wasn't till tonight, that I realized I could use it now to mark the stitch line on mutisize patterns for flat pattern measurements. Duh! Thanks for the helpful tip!
4/24/04 0:40 AM
sewingdemon said...
Very very clever...
11/28/03 3:45 AM
AnneM said...
Pictures are worth a thousand words. Thanks for including yours along with the tip; it really clarifies what you are describing.
9/5/03 12:26 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love the two tone colors you used t denot which is the stitching/sewing lines! I trace a lot too.
8/24/03 6:22 AM
MadMenFanlinda said...
I copied two patterns this a.m. using your method and the results were great! I found a third pencil, but set a couple of inches higher, to be a perfect spacer. It gave me exactly 5/8" for SA. Thanks again.
8/23/03 9:02 AM
Gigi Louis said...
That's a great idea!
8/19/03 8:58 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I've been struggling with this myself, and thinking of trying to find some sort of drafting tool. This is much simpler and CHEAPER. Loved your photo. Thanks.
8/19/03 8:32 PM
monahan said...
Deepika, I think you're right. It just takes some of us a little longer than others...
8/18/03 2:47 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Thanks! Sometimes simple things work awfully well.
8/18/03 1:50 PM
Deepika said...
monahan, I've been using this method too and its interesting to see how we all come up with the same things :) I guess all sewers think alike.
8/18/03 1:09 PM
Donna Isler said...
Very resourceful! Thank you !
8/18/03 11:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.