SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tracing Seam Allowance

Viewed 5411 times
Posted by: monahan
photo

 
 
About monahan star
SC USA
Member since: 7/9/03
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/18/03 10:46 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I recently subscribed to Burda WOF and therefore began tracing my patterns onto drafting trace paper. Since Burda's patterns don't include seam allowance, I would dash in a second line 5/8" from the seam line.

Finally a eureka moment... 2 pencils held together with a rubber band. I cut cardboard spacers and inserted them between the pencils until the points were 5/8" apart.

It's not pretty, (see the web link above) but it sure gets the job done...

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


21 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Donna Isler said...
Very resourceful! Thank you !
8/18/03 11:43 AM
Deepika said...
monahan, I've been using this method too and its interesting to see how we all come up with the same things :) I guess all sewers think alike.
8/18/03 1:09 PM
Debbie Lancaster said...
Thanks! Sometimes simple things work awfully well.
8/18/03 1:50 PM
monahan said...
Deepika, I think you're right. It just takes some of us a little longer than others...
8/18/03 2:47 PM
Mandolin82 said...
I've been struggling with this myself, and thinking of trying to find some sort of drafting tool. This is much simpler and CHEAPER. Loved your photo. Thanks.
8/19/03 8:32 PM
Gigi Louis said...
That's a great idea!
8/19/03 8:58 PM
MadMenFanlinda said...
I copied two patterns this a.m. using your method and the results were great! I found a third pencil, but set a couple of inches higher, to be a perfect spacer. It gave me exactly 5/8" for SA. Thanks again.
8/23/03 9:02 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love the two tone colors you used t denot which is the stitching/sewing lines! I trace a lot too.
8/24/03 6:22 AM
AnneM said...
Pictures are worth a thousand words. Thanks for including yours along with the tip; it really clarifies what you are describing.
9/5/03 12:26 PM
sewingdemon said...
Very very clever...
11/28/03 3:45 AM
ReneeO said...
monahan, I read your tip some time ago and made a mental note to use it if I ever used a pattern without SA. It wasn't till tonight, that I realized I could use it now to mark the stitch line on mutisize patterns for flat pattern measurements. Duh! Thanks for the helpful tip!
4/24/04 0:40 AM
Cian said...
I love this idea and I tried to do the same thing but didn't have and cardbord for spacing. I have a drafting compass from an office supply store that seems to work just as well except there is just one side for the pencil. The other side has a pointy end so I have to e careful when I'm tracing.
6/1/04 7:03 PM
2smiley said...
Look into the double tracing wheels that are availabe in the notions section of the yardage stores.Also check out catalogs ofNancys Notions and Clotilde. I found mine in Claremont, Ca. on the notions wall of a sewing machine and Vacuumm store It has 1 handle and awide bottom with a series of slots to place the 2 adjustable tracing wheels at the amount you ne ed. 1 wheel on the sewing line and the outter wheel marks the cutting line. I'd be lost without mine
9/20/04 11:23 PM
Lesa said...
Thanks for this tip. The double wheel clover helps.
5/21/05 4:05 AM
guillorypr said...
Wow! What a clever idea, thanks!
12/5/05 10:12 AM
MCGINNHOLD said...
AWESOME!!! THANK YOU
9/4/07 7:41 PM
joydisaster said...
Now, why didn't I think of that?
10/28/07 3:00 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This IS great! Thanks!
5/16/08 2:22 PM
SoVintage said...
Ingenious, you shoul patten that idea
5/28/09 11:41 AM
putty said...
How about using a compass.
9/14/09 2:24 PM
putty said...
How about using a compass.
9/14/09 2:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.