SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Turning tubes of fabric

Viewed 5305 times
Posted by: Warbler
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Warbler star
VT USA
Member since: 4/15/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/20/10 11:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I recently needed to turn about fifty narrow ties (2W x by 36L) inside out and found the fabric difficult to grip. Wearing rubber gloves held the fabric and made turning go twice as fast than without.

Turn the top edge of the tube right side out and continue to slide the fabric between your thumb and index finger so the right side of the fabric is facing outward and the tie is completely turned.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
2011 sew girl said...
cool!
4/4/11 5:09 PM
jeanharville said...
Thanks for a good idea. When I had vein surgery, I realized how helpful the thin surgical gloves are, but I didn't think of this. Glad you did.
3/25/10 8:52 PM
Kathy in NM said...
What a great idea!!!! I also have some "quilters gloves" which have a texture that would work about the same, but not be as hot since the main glove is cotton. I'm going to give this a try - Thanks! Also, love the warbler photo - what a beauty!
3/22/10 10:10 AM
ladybegood said...
Can't wait to try this! I never would have thought of this, but it makes perfect sense. Thanks for the tip!
3/21/10 10:43 PM
Pam Padilla said...
I tried this, and it works very well. Thanks for the awesome tip!
3/21/10 6:21 PM
Patzee said...
Wish you had posted this tip last month! Had a tube that drove me crazy...rubber gloves would have sure made it easier.
3/21/10 1:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.