SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using buttons as purse feet

Viewed 5547 times
Posted by: arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacs starstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/20/10 6:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 21 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Purse feet are not sold in my city, and since I didn't want to wait for a shipment from the Internet, I had the idea to use oversized thick buttons instead of buying expensive purse feet. They are easier to install than purse feet, since you only need to sew them on using your machine's button stitch.

While making another purse, I had another brain flash. Shank buttons would probably work even better than sew-on ones. You would just have to poke a hole for the loop on the bottom and put a pin through the loop to hold it, such as a piece of a toothpick. If you're lucky, the shank buttons come on a card with the plastic pin in the back to hold it on the card. Drop a bit of glue on the pin and shank loop to hold it in place!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Good idea! Thanks.
3/20/10 7:45 PM
Patzee said...
Cute!
3/21/10 1:27 AM
SusiM said...
Great idea! Thanks for sharing it.
3/21/10 2:32 AM
Mrs4Him said...
This is a really good idea! Thank you!
3/21/10 9:26 AM
elsew said...
And who doesn't have a great stash of buttons! Wow...this is a great idea and so timely since fabric purses and totes are so popular. Fantastic!
3/21/10 10:44 AM
sewknitful said...
Great idea! Thanks!
3/21/10 11:17 AM
fourkid said...
Great idea - I am sure I will be using it - your resourcefulness is inspiring.
3/21/10 11:32 AM
Annie- oh said...
Neat, fun idea - thanks!
3/21/10 5:15 PM
LynnG said...
What a clever idea. Something we all have in our stash and will also save some money.
3/22/10 9:06 AM
happystitcher said...
Who would of thought!!! I love making purses and this will give it that finished look. What a wonderful idea.
3/25/10 7:26 PM
Laurie Lou said...
ANd SO cute! I love it! What an ingenious idea. I will be saving this "simple but never thought of" idea. Thanks!
3/26/10 2:19 PM
missusprim said...
How utterly clever! I've been drafting my idea of a 'perfect purse' the past few weeks and although I already had the idea of applying a faux suede/leather bottom to it - using buttons for added protection is an AWESOME idea. A very clever way to use up some buttons in my stash and give a purse a more unique look.
3/28/10 10:21 AM
Blooms said...
Great idea, thank-you
4/18/10 8:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.