SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > adjustment for swelling of upper extremeties

Viewed 5306 times
Posted by: tgm and Kittys
photo

 
 
About tgm and Kittys star
United States
Member since: 3/8/10
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/31/10 10:17 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
I have a circulatory problem that causes swelling of my arms & neck at various times that can cause sleeves & necklines to feel very tight. I am just beginning to make some of my own garments, so this may already be used by many & if anyone knows a better way please please tell me I am open to any ideas & suggestions. ...I used a similiar squaring up technique that quilters use to add more room to the sides of the sleeves & greater length. I also increased sleeve hole by 1 1/2" in the lower edge of hole to be less noticeable for wear when it is not swollen but more roomy when it is swollen. I have to figure out what to do for necklines except to use small darts leaving a little more room without I hope looking like the darts should not be in the garment.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
emmyhonan said...
If you're referring to round necklines, (t shirt type) you could use ribbing which has a lot of stretch. Would a blouse be more comfortable? You could unbutton as needed.
4/3/10 7:05 PM
tgm and Kittys said...
emmyhonan, I was making a dress with rectangle neckline & elbow length sleeves. Yes, you are quite right ribbing is much more comfortable. When I have asked at the fabric store for T-shirt type material they say they do not know. I.E. nightshirts with ribbing. Would you know where to look for it? Thanks so much.
4/4/10 6:17 AM
emmyhonan said...
I get knits at our local Joann's. If I can't find ribbing to match, I'll use the knit fabric for the t. They did have rib knits (60" wide) which you could use. Ribbing is usually about 25" wide. Hope you can solve your problem.
4/4/10 8:01 PM
tgm and Kittys said...
Emmyhohan, thank you for the info. I will try to get over to the fabric store this week. Do you think Hancock's would have it ? It is much closer to me than JoAnn's store is.
4/5/10 12:28 PM
emmyhonan said...
I searched the Hancock site and they had a few of each, rib knit and knits. I don't have a Hancocks near me
4/5/10 8:07 PM
tgm and Kittys said...
Thank you for your help emmyhohan. I will check that out next time we are over by Hancocks Fabrics. (We used to have 2 Hancocks one went out of business last year that was closer to us...we still have the other one). ....>^..^<
4/6/10 10:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.