SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Eyelets Tips

Viewed 5693 times
Posted by: dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dfr2010 star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/8/10 1:48 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Here is how I do up my eyelets on corsets and bodices:
1 - I put poly boning on either side of the eyelets! My latest project I also sewed buckran in between the boning and the two layers of fabric, using an extra "top" of an eyelet to measure the distance between the pieces of poly boning. The buckram goes to the outer edges of the poly boning. *note: if you only put one piece of poly boning alongside your eyelets, they will pull and wrinkle -- even if you use heavy interfaced upholstery fabric. I have an example ...

2- I really don't have a fancy tool to measure between eyelets ... magic sewing guage and fabric marker, with all the tops laid out along in between the poly boning to make sure the distances and number will fit. I mark a dot in the hole of the eyelet once I am happy with the spacing.

3- LIFE-SAVING TOOL!! It's a Martha Stewart scrapbooking tool I found last year at Wal-Mart called a "screw punch". I looked on the website listed on the back of the package but couldn't find it, so it may be discontinued now, but it may still be in some stores. It looks like an awl, but rotates down and punches/cuts a perfect circular hole, and is absolutely worth hunting down.

4- Hammer and Dritz eyelet "tools" which include a plastic "seating" bottom and a metal spindle-looking thing that goes on top. Note: the top of the spindle piece is small, so hold the hammer up higher on the neck with a finger right below the head to control where you hit! Trust me -- it's no fun smacking your thumb ... Dritz sells the two-part tool with the eyelets.

5- Put the bottom piece of the eyelet on the side that faces outward ... it looks much better! I am not going to admit how many bodices/corsets it took for me to figure that out ...

6- If you're using the Dritz/Prym brand, there will be more "tops" than "bottoms". Don't freak out if you run out of bottoms before the tops (like I did the first 3 times).

7- All of my eyelets are stress-bearing, so I can't comment too much on decorative uses.

Anyone else have experiences to share?

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Very helpful tips! I have been putting eyelts in things for years, and it has always been a trial for me. Thanks for the information on tools as well as tricks.
4/8/10 2:13 PM
dfr2010 said...
Aruoura - having the right tools is half the battle. The lady who taught me how to sew (well, sorta) called me to tell me all about that screw punch ... It works so SO much better than snips or little scissors.
4/8/10 2:27 PM
quathy said...
Thanks for the tips! I'll be making some belts this year and this will come in handy.
4/8/10 3:03 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great timing, I have a student wanting to learn to make corsets... thanks!
4/8/10 3:57 PM
fryman said...
I'm user of the Dritz hammer technique but will investigate the Martha Stewart tool you mentioned. Thanks for sharing such useful information!
4/9/10 9:42 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Useful information, delivered with a sense of humor. Thanks!
4/9/10 12:04 PM
CM_Sews said...
Snips with scissors did not work well for me, either, but I found another method. To open a hole for the eyelet, I've used an Exacto knife and cut a TINY "x" such that both cuts are on the bias. When I push the eyelet piece through, the bias cuts "open up" and let the eyelet through. The cuts do not have to be as wide across as the eyelet as the bias gives it some stretch. Possibly this wouldn't work in the corset in question (not enough bias stretch? too much bulk with the buckram?), but I stopped having problems with eyelets pulling loose when I use the tiny "x" cut technique. I was installing eyelets through upholstery weight fabric, with heavy iron-on interfacing, and a cotton lining. With the garment flat (I put a stack of newspaper underneath to protect the table), put the Exacto knife straight up and down and push down slowly to create a small bias cut. Turn the blade 90 degrees and make the second small bias cut, forming an "x". Try pushing the eyelet post through the "x" hole. Start with a very small cuts; you can enlarge them if needed.
4/9/10 6:05 PM
dfr2010 said...
CMSews, that sounds like a workable solution for anyone who can't find the screw punch! Good tip.
4/10/10 7:58 AM
sewrelaxed said...
Vogue Fabrics used to sell a screwpunch online (not sure if that is still the case). They also had a good tutorial on its use.
4/11/10 0:03 AM
MissFit said...
Actually in anything that is going to be made for long periods of use, you really shouldn't cut the fabric. This can cause the loss of the grommets or eyelets over a period of time.
4/12/10 5:19 PM
nicegirl said...
I have the useless Dritz eyelet setting pliers. I have never used them successfully for a (one piece) eyelet or a (two piece) snap, BUT they are perfect for punching that hole to put the eyelet through. In case people can't find the screw punch.
10/19/10 2:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.