SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Music stand as holder for pattern instructions

Viewed 5305 times
Posted by: EveS
photo

 
 
About EveS starstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/13/10 3:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
I am forever trying to keep my cutting/work table clear of extraneous "stuff"...unsuccessfully. One thing that I almost always need nearby is my pattern magazine or instruction sheets but they take up so much space on my table. And finding an open surface nearby? Yeah, right. Sewing is messy, cluttery business...at least in my world.

I have an old metal music stand that I've repurposed as a pattern holder. I can butt it right up to my cutting table (or where ever I might need it) without losing precious flat-surface real estate. It's absolutely perfect for magazines like Burda or Ottobre or if I'm working with US pattern instruction sheets, I simply use clothespins, binder clips, or hanger clips to clip them to the upper crossbars of the stand.

Not only is this a spacesaver, it's so much easier to read since the instructions are vertical and at eye-level. And the stands typically fold up to not much more than the size of a ruler for easy storage.

If you don't have an old one from your beloved high school band class laying around somewhere, there are scores (pun intended) of them selling for just a few dollars on eBay. It's my favorite new "surprise" notion!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SandiMacD said...
What a brilliant idea!
4/14/10 0:29 AM
svetlana said...
Brilliant! I had 4 kids go thru band in junior high and high school, spaced far enough apart that the stand was still being used when the next one started up so I know I have at least 3 of those kicking around the garage somewhere. New motivation to clean the garage!
4/14/10 8:05 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks, I do not play music and never would have thought of this.
4/14/10 8:34 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks, I do not play music and never would have thought of this.
4/14/10 8:34 AM
Catbird said...
GREAT idea! I'm going to give it a try today. Thanks!
4/14/10 8:39 AM
Dru said...
Wow, I just came across one while cleaning out a closet over the weekend. Will definitely move it to my sewing room.
4/14/10 8:51 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea - wish I still had mine ;-)
4/14/10 10:15 AM
HeyJane said...
How smart is that! My metal stand is on the floor of the closet doing nothing. Going now to dig it out.
4/14/10 11:24 AM
Margaret said...
Ooh, I have an old music stand and the exact same space issue! Great idea! Thanks!
4/14/10 11:58 AM
LaurieEm said...
What a great idea!
4/16/10 6:20 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I would put this ingenius tip on the tools section as well. It's just to good not to share everywhere. Thank you - i love it!
4/23/10 1:10 PM
Christas said...
Eve, this is a terrific idea! I would have never thought of it. Thanks for the great tip!
4/25/10 10:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Great tip, Eve. I promptly stole DH's music stand and was using it in my sewing room on the 1st floor this evening. DH returned from work, headed to his music room on the 2nd floor and immediately, I heard him yell, "Hey, where's my music stand?" Whoops, Lily
4/29/10 1:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.