SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Sewing a square without angst

Viewed 5165 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/20/10 11:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
While sewing a tote recently, I needed to sew a square of stitches to secure the straps. Usually this isn't a problem -- just pivot on each corner. This tote was large and pivoting was going to be a challenge on one side. I sewed side 1, pivoted and sewed side 2. With the needle in the fabric, I sewed the 3d side using the reverse, then pivoted and sewed side 4. I then oversewed side 1 for security. This was so much simpler than wrestling something large under the head -- lightbulb moment! HTH.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Ethansgram said...
What a clever solution! I am currently working on a tote and may need to use this technique. Thanks for the great idea. ETA: sorry about the double post - apparently having internet issues.
4/20/10 10:14 PM
Ethansgram said...
What a clever solution! I am currently working on a tote and may need to use this technique. Thanks for the great idea.
4/20/10 10:15 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
What a cool idea!
4/21/10 7:44 AM
vasallese said...
That's how I do it. I try to oversew on the bottom or top, I feel it gives extra strength so the strap will be supported.
4/21/10 7:52 AM
Barnes797 said...
Smart
4/21/10 10:13 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
I am correct in assuming that you sew a complete square, than resew the first stitching, for a total of 5 sewing lines? In other words, just sew around in a square, by pivoting at the 4 corners?
4/22/10 3:57 PM
Patti B said...
Yes, joaniesjosh, I always overlap one row of stitches. The aha moment was the sewing of one row of stitching in reverse so I did not have to wrestle the bag under the head of the machine. HTH
4/23/10 10:11 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
Does this mean you sew 4 sides once, but one of the sides twice???
5/2/10 4:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.