SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Sewing a square without angst

Viewed 5186 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/20/10 11:32 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
While sewing a tote recently, I needed to sew a square of stitches to secure the straps. Usually this isn't a problem -- just pivot on each corner. This tote was large and pivoting was going to be a challenge on one side. I sewed side 1, pivoted and sewed side 2. With the needle in the fabric, I sewed the 3d side using the reverse, then pivoted and sewed side 4. I then oversewed side 1 for security. This was so much simpler than wrestling something large under the head -- lightbulb moment! HTH.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Ethansgram said...
What a clever solution! I am currently working on a tote and may need to use this technique. Thanks for the great idea. ETA: sorry about the double post - apparently having internet issues.
4/20/10 10:14 PM
Ethansgram said...
What a clever solution! I am currently working on a tote and may need to use this technique. Thanks for the great idea.
4/20/10 10:15 PM
Bunsnpigs said...
What a cool idea!
4/21/10 7:44 AM
vasallese said...
That's how I do it. I try to oversew on the bottom or top, I feel it gives extra strength so the strap will be supported.
4/21/10 7:52 AM
Barnes797 said...
Smart
4/21/10 10:13 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
I am correct in assuming that you sew a complete square, than resew the first stitching, for a total of 5 sewing lines? In other words, just sew around in a square, by pivoting at the 4 corners?
4/22/10 3:57 PM
Patti B said...
Yes, joaniesjosh, I always overlap one row of stitches. The aha moment was the sewing of one row of stitching in reverse so I did not have to wrestle the bag under the head of the machine. HTH
4/23/10 10:11 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
Does this mean you sew 4 sides once, but one of the sides twice???
5/2/10 4:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.