SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Personal measurement chart

Viewed 5716 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/21/10 11:50 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
In my classes, I measure each student (1 student per day) and have an other student fill out a measurement chart.
I have used several measurement charts and have found one that is excellent.

Taking measurements is a time consuming project and does require assistance from anyone you can bribe into doing it.

Non -sewers are better than not having anyone at all. The measurements may not be exact but close enough so don't be too picky or demanding of perfection from your mate/child/sister.
BUT if you have a sewing buddy, you are more likely to get accurate measurements although most of us don't have this luxury.


Here is one of the best charts and instructions available...

http://aces.nmsu.edu/pubs/_c/C-220.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lca said...
Thank you for this source.
4/21/10 2:50 PM
Gildarose said...
Thank you!
4/21/10 3:17 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
thank you for posting all these tips, I have enjoyed reading them all and will take them to heart
4/22/10 2:01 AM
Catbird said...
You're the best! Thank you for this helpful information.
4/22/10 7:57 AM
fryman said...
I had no luck getting results from this listing, as written here.
4/22/10 9:58 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Fryman Try again. It works
4/22/10 10:30 AM
pieraci2 said...
...thank you....now I must find someone.... :)
4/23/10 6:12 AM
pieraci2 said...
...thank you....now I must find someone.... :)
4/23/10 6:12 AM
pieraci2 said...
...thank you....now I must find someone.... :)
4/23/10 6:13 AM
Pam Padilla said...
I have appreciated many of your tips, but I had to comment on this one. I happen to live only about 20 minutes from NMSU, but I never would have known about this great resource without you. Thanks!
4/25/10 8:23 PM
lydia610 said...
I'll let you know when I see the chart.
9/3/10 1:34 PM
lydia610 said...
I love the chart, its just what I was looking for. It has all the measurements I could possibly need. Thank you.
9/3/10 1:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.