SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Fitting - the slash method

Viewed 5548 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/10 12:33 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
I've had a renewed interest in fitting so I have been relearning the basics by researching new and old fitting books/guides.

Although I do flat pattern adjustments to begin with, I love draping the fabric and find that it is easier and it's accurate to fit this way, although, all garments during the sewing process still need to be tweeked as you sew.

Yes, fittings are a BORE and are tedious and NO ONE likes doing them but this is what sets masterpieces apart from the ordinary.

The Slash method, where one cuts the muslin open to make a needed adjustment which is done by adding fabric or by removing it, is a method I rarely see in books.

Yes, it's extremely time consuming but there are seamstresses who sew at this level of expertise. This info is for those interested in "as-close-to-perfection" as one can get.

Here is a web page that demonstrates this technique beautifully
It is from 1963 and it is shown using coats .

If you read through this carefully, you will also learn to interpret what wrinkles or pulls mean and the solutions.

I know you will enjoy it.


http://agnic.msu.edu/gsdl/collect/usda/index/assoc/HASH01a7.dir/doc.pdf

or

http://agnic.msu.edu/cgi-bin/library?e=d-000-00---0usda--00-0-0--0prompt-10---4------0-1l--1-en-50---20-preferences---00031-001-1-0utfZz-8-00&a=d&c=usda&cl=CL2.1&d=HASH01a70bab1ce1a89b538be722

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tsal said...
What an awesome tutorial on fitting...thanks!
4/24/10 4:55 PM
Charrlie said...
I will take a look at this one, also. Thank you
4/25/10 0:10 AM
Denise L Perry said...
Wow! Thanks so much for this. I will be reading and rereading it.
4/25/10 7:01 AM
Catbird said...
This is OUTSTANDING. Threads magazine has had some good articles by Kenneth King on the same method, but this goes into fantastic detail and greater depth. I love it. There will be no excuse for poor fit after reading this! Thank you so much.
4/25/10 8:41 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very interesting. I've only skimmed, but will mark it for a more thorough read. Thanks.
4/25/10 8:53 AM
MizLiz said...
I would love to read this but cannot seem to connect with that website. Does anyone have any suggestions to help?? Thanks
4/25/10 11:59 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Mizliz, make certain that you are copying and pasting the entire addy. good luck.
4/25/10 1:34 PM
beejayem said...
Thanks so much for that info! I was having trouble with the link showing the document in a huge width across my screen & could not seem to save it properly. Found it again at http://agnic.msu.edu/hgpubs/modus/morefile/hg11_63.pdf and that worked for me. And so old (information) is new (to us) again thanks to your tip!
4/25/10 4:02 PM
beejayem said...

4/25/10 4:04 PM
HeyJane said...
Good stuff! I ordered a copy of the booklet from Amazon, only $4.
4/25/10 6:28 PM
kws said...
Sounds good, I will also but the booklet, because it is hard to find on the site, though I finally did, and hard to read on the computer. Thanks for the tip.
4/25/10 8:21 PM
ryansmumAria said...
hEYjANE, Thanks for the heads up. I ordered one while there were still a couple left.
4/25/10 9:57 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks...I'll go check it out.
4/26/10 2:58 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for this great review and tutorial!
5/3/10 11:31 AM
bernagate said...
i might just have to try this muslin slashing technique. As patterns seem to very rarely fit me very well, and I usually end up making 2 anyways. One doesn't turn out and the other usually does turn out fairly well, but I am usually just eyeballing and gueesing at adjustments! Thanks for the link and info! Happy sewing/altering!
5/27/10 11:15 PM
XiaXia said...
Very good advice indeed! Thank you.
8/31/11 10:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.