SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Interpreting wrinkles and pulls

Viewed 5743 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/10 12:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Would you like to know what those wrinkles and pulls mean on your garments?

It has always mystified me when I would meet someone who could take a look at a garment and know exactly what the problem was by the "reading" the diagonal pull at the back armhole or what the wrinkles in the lower back meant. AND then they would give me the solution to my problem. It would have taken me hours to have figured out.

Well, I have discovered a web page that has a copy of a chapter from a book by Margaret Smith, a sewing wizard of the 50's and 60's, who demonstrates and explains what it all means. This is shown on coats but works equally well on tops and of course, jackets.

You need to read through the info carefully, so make a copy and a cup of tea...

This is GREAT reading! and you will feel so smart.

http://agnic.msu.edu/gsdl/collect/usda/index/assoc/HASH01a7.dir/doc.pdf

or

http://agnic.msu.edu/cgi-bin/library?e=d-000-00---0usda--00-0-0--0prompt-10---4------0-1l--1-en-50---20-preferences---00031-001-1-0utfZz-8-00&a=d&c=usda&cl=CL2.1&d=HASH01a70bab1ce1a89b538be722


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


19 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
tchr2dy said...
Thank you for sharing this. I'm always open to different ideas of how to correct fitting challenges!
6/5/10 11:50 PM
lamstu said...
This will be a time- and patience-saver for me. I really can't thank you enough for posting this link!
5/15/10 10:01 PM
Leora said...
This is unbelievably helpful! So many of my questions finally answered and clearly illustrated. Thank you so much.
5/9/10 1:58 PM
M.S. said...
This is great! Now I need to find the same thing for pants!
4/28/10 10:13 AM
ryansmumAria said...
woggy, thank you! I'm going to change the web address
4/26/10 1:42 PM
woggy said...
Great article! The following is a pdf file of the article and it is 25 pages long. It is easier to read so I thought I would post it. http://agnic.msu.edu/gsdl/collect/usda/index/assoc/HASH01a7.dir/doc.pdf
4/26/10 1:30 PM
psgates said...
Fantastic article!
4/26/10 8:25 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Thanks this was great, presented in a little different way but very effective visual.
4/25/10 8:21 PM
hazelnut said...
Thank you for the link - great reference. Nice that it addresses alterations for both new construction and RTW...and that it's printable :)
4/25/10 2:41 PM
ryansmumAria said...
mrs4, Sorry for the confusion. Both topics, the slash method and reading wrinkles are in the same chapter ;)
4/25/10 1:30 PM
Mrs4Him said...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I'm getting the same link for both of your reviews. I copy/pasted side by side to look at them and they are the same. But obviously people below have gotten to it.--??
4/25/10 1:21 PM
Gloria W said...
Great article. I love that is shows the problem on a real garment, not just a line drawing.
4/25/10 11:46 AM
Karine said...
This is great - thanks!!!
4/25/10 10:48 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What a great visual resource. Thanks for the link!
4/25/10 6:59 AM
Kirstenw said...
I too always could not figure the wrinkles out, thank you I will look it up
4/25/10 4:15 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
that sounds great
4/25/10 3:36 AM
Charrlie said...
Thanks I will take a look.
4/25/10 0:07 AM
Charrlie said...
Thanks I will take a look.
4/25/10 0:07 AM
Daphinator said...
Thank you very much for this information. I found it to be very helpful and it will end up being a good resource
4/24/10 6:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.