SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Interpreting wrinkles and pulls

Viewed 5600 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/10 12:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Would you like to know what those wrinkles and pulls mean on your garments?

It has always mystified me when I would meet someone who could take a look at a garment and know exactly what the problem was by the "reading" the diagonal pull at the back armhole or what the wrinkles in the lower back meant. AND then they would give me the solution to my problem. It would have taken me hours to have figured out.

Well, I have discovered a web page that has a copy of a chapter from a book by Margaret Smith, a sewing wizard of the 50's and 60's, who demonstrates and explains what it all means. This is shown on coats but works equally well on tops and of course, jackets.

You need to read through the info carefully, so make a copy and a cup of tea...

This is GREAT reading! and you will feel so smart.

http://agnic.msu.edu/gsdl/collect/usda/index/assoc/HASH01a7.dir/doc.pdf

or

http://agnic.msu.edu/cgi-bin/library?e=d-000-00---0usda--00-0-0--0prompt-10---4------0-1l--1-en-50---20-preferences---00031-001-1-0utfZz-8-00&a=d&c=usda&cl=CL2.1&d=HASH01a70bab1ce1a89b538be722


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


19 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Daphinator said...
Thank you very much for this information. I found it to be very helpful and it will end up being a good resource
4/24/10 6:59 PM
Charrlie said...
Thanks I will take a look.
4/25/10 0:07 AM
Charrlie said...
Thanks I will take a look.
4/25/10 0:07 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
that sounds great
4/25/10 3:36 AM
Kirstenw said...
I too always could not figure the wrinkles out, thank you I will look it up
4/25/10 4:15 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What a great visual resource. Thanks for the link!
4/25/10 6:59 AM
Karine said...
This is great - thanks!!!
4/25/10 10:48 AM
Gloria W said...
Great article. I love that is shows the problem on a real garment, not just a line drawing.
4/25/10 11:46 AM
Mrs4Him said...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I'm getting the same link for both of your reviews. I copy/pasted side by side to look at them and they are the same. But obviously people below have gotten to it.--??
4/25/10 1:21 PM
ryansmumAria said...
mrs4, Sorry for the confusion. Both topics, the slash method and reading wrinkles are in the same chapter ;)
4/25/10 1:30 PM
hazelnut said...
Thank you for the link - great reference. Nice that it addresses alterations for both new construction and RTW...and that it's printable :)
4/25/10 2:41 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Thanks this was great, presented in a little different way but very effective visual.
4/25/10 8:21 PM
psgates said...
Fantastic article!
4/26/10 8:25 AM
woggy said...
Great article! The following is a pdf file of the article and it is 25 pages long. It is easier to read so I thought I would post it. http://agnic.msu.edu/gsdl/collect/usda/index/assoc/HASH01a7.dir/doc.pdf
4/26/10 1:30 PM
ryansmumAria said...
woggy, thank you! I'm going to change the web address
4/26/10 1:42 PM
M.S. said...
This is great! Now I need to find the same thing for pants!
4/28/10 10:13 AM
Leora said...
This is unbelievably helpful! So many of my questions finally answered and clearly illustrated. Thank you so much.
5/9/10 1:58 PM
lamstu said...
This will be a time- and patience-saver for me. I really can't thank you enough for posting this link!
5/15/10 10:01 PM
tchr2dy said...
Thank you for sharing this. I'm always open to different ideas of how to correct fitting challenges!
6/5/10 11:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.