SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Finding pattern pieces on big sheets of paper

Viewed 5258 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/10 5:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
With patterns that come on large sheets of heavy paper, like those from KwikSew and HotPatterns, I generally iron the original pattern sheet flat, then trace off the pieces I need, then refold the original pattern pages and put them back in the envelope. Inevitably, I will find that I have either left out a piece, or forgotten to mark a notch or line, or traced the wrong size. Then I have to locate the correct piece among the several humongous sheets of awkward-to-mess-with paper and retrace it.

Today I had an aha moment: Before refolding the sheets, I noted what items were on the sheet, and after refolding the sheets, wrote on the outside of the folded sheets what pattern pieces were on that sheet. Now when I need to trace the gusset piece on the new HP Tuxedo shirt/tunic/dress, I can find it without unfolding all of those sheets.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
dress45 said...
I love the way you make it very easy I never think of that Thankyou.
4/25/10 11:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea, but since I don't have that much room, I have to cut pattern pieces apart before tracing.
4/25/10 8:56 AM
dollieo said...
YES brilliant.
4/25/10 8:53 AM
dollieo said...
YES brilliant.
4/25/10 8:52 AM
Catbird said...
Great idea! I also make little dots or check marks on the list of pattern pieces in the instructions after I trace each piece -- that helps me to know that I've traced all the pieces before folding up the humongous sheets. Of course, that doesn't help if I've forgotten a notch or a grainline, but your idea will make that less painful.
4/25/10 8:47 AM
petro said...
I do something similar with BWOF sheets, separate them into see through plastic file sections and tuck a copy of the line drawings of styles there, with the sheet letter etc added for good measure. I hate messing with those huge sheets of paper to look for a pattern.
4/25/10 7:48 AM
quathy said...
Brilliant!!!
4/24/10 7:39 PM
Sewing Joe said...
You are a freakin' genius! I'm going to use this tip for the rest of my life.
4/24/10 7:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

More Info
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.