SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Finding pattern pieces on big sheets of paper

Viewed 5261 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/10 5:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 18 people   
With patterns that come on large sheets of heavy paper, like those from KwikSew and HotPatterns, I generally iron the original pattern sheet flat, then trace off the pieces I need, then refold the original pattern pages and put them back in the envelope. Inevitably, I will find that I have either left out a piece, or forgotten to mark a notch or line, or traced the wrong size. Then I have to locate the correct piece among the several humongous sheets of awkward-to-mess-with paper and retrace it.

Today I had an aha moment: Before refolding the sheets, I noted what items were on the sheet, and after refolding the sheets, wrote on the outside of the folded sheets what pattern pieces were on that sheet. Now when I need to trace the gusset piece on the new HP Tuxedo shirt/tunic/dress, I can find it without unfolding all of those sheets.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
dress45 said...
I love the way you make it very easy I never think of that Thankyou.
4/25/10 11:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great idea, but since I don't have that much room, I have to cut pattern pieces apart before tracing.
4/25/10 8:56 AM
dollieo said...
YES brilliant.
4/25/10 8:53 AM
dollieo said...
YES brilliant.
4/25/10 8:52 AM
Catbird said...
Great idea! I also make little dots or check marks on the list of pattern pieces in the instructions after I trace each piece -- that helps me to know that I've traced all the pieces before folding up the humongous sheets. Of course, that doesn't help if I've forgotten a notch or a grainline, but your idea will make that less painful.
4/25/10 8:47 AM
petro said...
I do something similar with BWOF sheets, separate them into see through plastic file sections and tuck a copy of the line drawings of styles there, with the sheet letter etc added for good measure. I hate messing with those huge sheets of paper to look for a pattern.
4/25/10 7:48 AM
quathy said...
Brilliant!!!
4/24/10 7:39 PM
Sewing Joe said...
You are a freakin' genius! I'm going to use this tip for the rest of my life.
4/24/10 7:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.