SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bias ties

Viewed 5223 times
Posted by: marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marec starstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/5/10 9:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I love to add fun and artsy details to my clothing. Instead of using bias tape for binding necklines, I will often use ties I have picked up in thrift shops. They are already cut on the bias and so I can just cut the width I want. The inside part of the tie can also be recycled into shoulder seams. Take a look at old ties and imagine the patterns when used as binding on a neckline...very cool!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SusiM said...
Good idea! Thanks.
5/6/10 0:37 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Oh, wow, that's very clever ! Never thought to do this. Thank you. Now I have a reason to go to thrift shops.
5/6/10 7:34 AM
kws said...
Great idea
5/6/10 9:13 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Fun idea
5/6/10 11:36 AM
Laurie Lou said...
I LIKE it!
5/6/10 5:00 PM
room2ndfloor said...
I love to use men's ties for interior work. Check my review on the Keiko dress. http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=44069 Neckties from several of my high school classmates are inside of it.
5/6/10 6:45 PM
marec said...
room2ndfloor, I read your review (actually for the second time) and saw your comment..."Since both the shantung and the dupioni ravel like crazy, I finished every seam with bias bindings, which I made of fabric scraps and silk neckties. I love to put whimsical interior details into my otherwise conservative clothing." Great minds think alike! :-p
5/8/10 6:01 PM
azjune said...
Great recycling idea!
8/6/11 9:59 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, I LOVE this! Thanks so much!
9/22/12 1:31 AM
Holmar said...
That is such a cool idea...thanks for sharing!
11/10/12 6:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.