Online Sewing Class: Understanding Wool Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bias ties

Viewed 5493 times
Posted by: marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marec starstarstarstar
AZ United States
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews: 172 (tips: 5)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 89 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/5/10 9:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I love to add fun and artsy details to my clothing. Instead of using bias tape for binding necklines, I will often use ties I have picked up in thrift shops. They are already cut on the bias and so I can just cut the width I want. The inside part of the tie can also be recycled into shoulder seams. Take a look at old ties and imagine the patterns when used as binding on a neckline...very cool!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Holmar said... (11/10/12 6:57 PM) Reply
That is such a cool idea...thanks for sharing!
SavageCoco said... (9/22/12 1:31 AM) Reply
Oh, I LOVE this! Thanks so much!
azjune said... (8/6/11 9:59 AM) Reply
Great recycling idea!
marec said... (5/8/10 6:01 PM) Reply
room2ndfloor, I read your review (actually for the second time) and saw your comment..."Since both the shantung and the dupioni ravel like crazy, I finished every seam with bias bindings, which I made of fabric scraps and silk neckties. I love to put whimsical interior details into my otherwise conservative clothing." Great minds think alike! :-p
room2ndfloor said... (5/6/10 6:45 PM) Reply
I love to use men's ties for interior work. Check my review on the Keiko dress. http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=44069 Neckties from several of my high school classmates are inside of it.
Laurie Lou said... (5/6/10 5:00 PM) Reply
I LIKE it!
Teeavilnor said... (5/6/10 11:36 AM) Reply
Fun idea
kws said... (5/6/10 9:13 AM) Reply
Great idea
ryansmumAria said... (5/6/10 7:34 AM) Reply
Oh, wow, that's very clever ! Never thought to do this. Thank you. Now I have a reason to go to thrift shops.
SusiM said... (5/6/10 0:37 AM) Reply
Good idea! Thanks.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.