Online Sewing Class: Leather 101
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > bias ties

Viewed 5409 times
Posted by: marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marec starstarstarstar
AZ United States
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews: 165 (tips: 5)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/5/10 9:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I love to add fun and artsy details to my clothing. Instead of using bias tape for binding necklines, I will often use ties I have picked up in thrift shops. They are already cut on the bias and so I can just cut the width I want. The inside part of the tie can also be recycled into shoulder seams. Take a look at old ties and imagine the patterns when used as binding on a neckline...very cool!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Holmar said... (11/10/12 6:57 PM) Reply
That is such a cool idea...thanks for sharing!
SavageCoco said... (9/22/12 1:31 AM) Reply
Oh, I LOVE this! Thanks so much!
azjune said... (8/6/11 9:59 AM) Reply
Great recycling idea!
marec said... (5/8/10 6:01 PM) Reply
room2ndfloor, I read your review (actually for the second time) and saw your comment..."Since both the shantung and the dupioni ravel like crazy, I finished every seam with bias bindings, which I made of fabric scraps and silk neckties. I love to put whimsical interior details into my otherwise conservative clothing." Great minds think alike! :-p
room2ndfloor said... (5/6/10 6:45 PM) Reply
I love to use men's ties for interior work. Check my review on the Keiko dress. http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=44069 Neckties from several of my high school classmates are inside of it.
Laurie Lou said... (5/6/10 5:00 PM) Reply
I LIKE it!
Teeavilnor said... (5/6/10 11:36 AM) Reply
Fun idea
kws said... (5/6/10 9:13 AM) Reply
Great idea
ryansmumAria said... (5/6/10 7:34 AM) Reply
Oh, wow, that's very clever ! Never thought to do this. Thank you. Now I have a reason to go to thrift shops.
SusiM said... (5/6/10 0:37 AM) Reply
Good idea! Thanks.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Summer Tote Paper Pattern

Summer Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.