SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > double check when using interfacing

Viewed 5207 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/14/10 11:40 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 17 people   
Interfacing can change the shape of a pattern piece.

If you fuse or sew in interfacing always double check the interfaced/fabric piece by laying the pattern tissue over it to see if it has retained its shape.

After making several bags/purse recently, I was amazed to see how much fabric grows and changes shape when I sew non fusible interfacing and when I press fusible.

In most all cases, I had to recut, not alot but enough to make a difference.

The best solution when using fusible, is to fuse block by ironing the fusible to the fabric before you cut the pattern out.

With non fusible, you need to double check.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
quathy said...
I never thought to check it! But that sure explains a lot... I need a new habit of fusing before cutting.
5/14/10 6:55 PM
homejewel said...
Great tip, thank you!!
5/14/10 10:32 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I never though of cutting it out after applying interfacing. I usually try to shrink the interfacing with a blast of steam first.
5/15/10 1:19 AM
kws said...
excellent advice
5/15/10 3:47 AM
Lynn67 said...
awesome tip!
5/15/10 3:08 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Great idea! I never thought of that.
5/17/10 12:20 PM
DesertGirl said...
Hi! Love your posts and tips. Question: I was taught to trim the interfacing before attaching to piece being interfaced. How would you then trim the interfacing so it does not go into the seam allowance? Thanks. Nance
5/20/10 10:10 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Desertgirl, Not trimming your seam allowance was highly suggested when interfacing was much more "boardlike". With many modern interfacings, it actually helps your seam look better. I only cut out Peltex seams as it is almost like sewing on cardboard. Sewing guru, Margaret Islander, one of my faves, recommends this practice and I recently read this suggestion from some other author (I'm reading multiple sewing books at the moment and can't think of where).
5/27/10 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.