SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using wine corks for discarded needles

Viewed 5261 times
Posted by: ChristinePDX
photo

 
 
About ChristinePDX star
OR USA
Member since: 10/4/08
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/16/10 3:24 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
I have been using an old wine cork to discard needles, just push the needle into the cork and throw away.> > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > >

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pipet said...
Great idea! I have to admit I accumulate corks fairly quickly and this is a useful tip for me to give them a second life :)
6/19/10 0:16 AM
Lynn67 said...
Duh, why didn't I think of that? I've been putting the needles back in the case upside down so I'd know they were old, but I've stabbed myself several times doing that. Awesome tip - and a good excuse to open a bottle of wine tonight!
5/17/10 2:47 PM
Charrlie said...
I have used an old prescription bottle as well, works great
5/17/10 2:35 PM
waltzqueen said...
Why didn't I think of that! Thanks for the tip. Now I know what to do with the 3 needles sitting next to my machine.
5/17/10 2:33 PM
ElsaD said...
I also do this. The cork becomes quite a porcupine. Then I also find that when I need to 'tug out the corner of a fabric belt or collar, I can use one of the old sewing machine needles in the cork. I used to use straight pins but they'd get bent and couldn't be re-used.
5/17/10 12:49 PM
Queendom said...
Brilliant! I have a lot of those:)
5/17/10 9:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.