SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > sewing practice sheets for beginners

Viewed 7243 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/18/10 2:51 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When teaching someone who is new to sewing, I use these sewing templates so they can learn how to sew a straight line, go around curves and turn corners.

Instead of sewing directly on the lines as instructed to do, I have them place the line on the sewing foot right edge - it's easier.

I've taught both adults and children using these wonderful sheets.

When using the oval, remember to use very small stitches in order to be able to make the tight curve.

When doing the corners stop short of the turn and then hand walk the fly wheel until you get to the corner or as close as possible. Keep needle in down position while you lift the presser foot and turn paper.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
HRS0401ECU said...
This is perfect for me!!! as a beginner who is unfortunately teaching myself, no classes offered in my area and the only person I know who can sew is my mother and her idea of helping is just let me do it... its so easy (she's been sewing for over 40 years) Although Im pretty sure my mothers head will explode if she see's me sewing using paper or using small stitches... apparently, according to her, they both ruin the machine
4/5/11 6:10 AM
Wanda ll said...
where are the templates located?
9/21/10 2:54 PM
Roxie5166 said...
We also sewed on notebook paper, on the lines with a needle in home ec. Yes, made the gingham apron with no pattern, just measure and tear. Aww the good old days!!
6/8/10 11:44 AM
waltzqueen said...
We had to sew on paper too - no needle - in Home Ec in 1967! Did anyone else have to sew an apron out of gingham?
5/19/10 6:05 PM
Brine said...
Good point about having the students place the line at the edge of the foot. Watching the needle go up and down can be mesmerizing!
5/19/10 11:38 AM
ryansmumAria said...
kemp, a million years ago??? lol I don't have students put fabric on the back but I do have them use thread but unthreaded would save on having to use our stash...
5/19/10 10:38 AM
KempCorr said...
These say to put a piece of fabric behind the paper. When I took classes, about a million years ago, we used unthreaded machines on paper without any fabric backing.
5/19/10 8:17 AM
Linda Mae said...
When I was in 7th grade Home Ec (1959-60 school year) we used pages like these to learn to sew. It does really help when you practice on something like this. It was also helpful to teach you to keep your fingers away from the needle--one very important thing about sewing!!
5/18/10 9:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.