SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Quick way to measure a yard

Viewed 5548 times
Posted by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriB starstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/27/03 4:01 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My mom taught me this a long time ago and it occurred to me that everyone may not know this trick:

A quick way to measure an approximate yard is to hold the end of the fabric, ribbon, or trim in one hand, with your arm outstretched to the side and at shoulder height. Turn your head toward the other direction and the distance from where you're holding the item to the tip of your nose is about one yard.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Shazza B said...
My Mum called it Smelling a Yard!
1/19/07 9:47 AM
Bluebell said...
A good tip.. but I have it slightly differently... Hold fabric, ribbon etc between thumb and forefinger and stretch arm out at shoulder height, to full extent. With face to the front, place other end to be measured directly on tip of nose. This measures one yard (36 inches).. Still holding onto fabric etc. just turn head to opposite shoulder and place fabric etc. on tip of nose again... this will measure one metre (meter) (39 inches). Have used this "Rule of Thumb" for years.. very helpful when I am looking through fabric remnants..
8/13/06 7:05 AM
Lou. said...
Cool trick!
9/10/03 8:11 AM
J_J said...
It's true. I've used this method for years and it can be really useful when remnant shopping or picking up yard goods at garage sales/auctions. It works for my sister too and she's 6 inches shorter than me. We've never figured that one out!
9/8/03 9:38 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Lori, my mom taught me this long ago, and it is a very handy tool when you find stuff at yard sales or thrift shops or digging through remnant bins of unmarked goodies. It is only an approximation, as Patricia noted, but it is accurate enough to know if it's 'at least' 2 yards or only 1 and 3/4. Thanks for sharing this.
8/28/03 3:07 PM
Patricia M said...
Lori, for me, your method exactly measures a meter. I guess these measuring tips really didn't account for body differences, such as long noses!!
8/28/03 2:21 PM
Georgene said...
Yes and one meter is from the end of your outstretched arm to the opposite shoulder!
8/27/03 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.