SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Welts and flaps, Judy Barlup style

Viewed 5636 times
Posted by: Catbird
photo

 
 
About Catbird starstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/7/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/4/10 1:56 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I've been experimenting with Judy Barlup's style of making welts and flap pockets and really like the bulk-free result of her method. I found a step-by-step tutorial on this web site. This gives you the dimensions of the pocket pieces, all based on the size of your finished welt. I first copied the welt pattern from this site and manipulated the size on the computer until I had what I thought I wanted, but I found that the pattern had gotten slightly distorted and the seam allowances were uneven. So instead, I created a tutorial (link above) for creating a Judy Barlup-style welt from scratch, starting with the dimensions you want your finished welt to be and building from there. This is for the horizontal or vertical welt and not for the angled welt that she also shows on the web site. I haven't experimented with that one yet. You can use these directions to make any size bulk-free flap or welt you want. I hope it's clear!

I used this method in this vest.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Darlene2001 said...
Thank you, very clear
6/7/10 10:49 AM
MaryDB said...
Thanks! Making welt pockets (my project calls for five) was on the agenda for today, and I was putting it off. This will really help.
6/7/10 10:47 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Thank you so much for this great link. I took her class decades ago and there were no handouts, just my little diagrams. I love using her welt pocket, it is brilliant and works so well. Thanks again!
6/7/10 0:51 AM
nancy2001 said...
Very ingenious. I'll have to try it on my next project
6/5/10 10:45 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
I have added this tip to my favorites list. Very helpful.
6/5/10 10:16 AM
Patti B said...
Catbird, thanks for a helpful tute! And thanks for acknowledging Judy Barlup -- she's a wonderful and generous sewist. There are a lot of gems still hidden in the Get Creative site, aren't there?
6/5/10 9:48 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for posting this. I've bookmarked the link - very clear and helpful.
6/5/10 9:12 AM
Annette1 said...
EXCELLENT tutorial! Your step-by-step instructions and illustrations make it clear EVEN TO ME exactly what steps need to be taken to achieve this wonderful end result! I'm saving this tip as a "favorite." :o)
6/4/10 4:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

More Info
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.