SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Project Organization

Viewed 5243 times
Posted by: Princess Aurora
photo

 
 
About Princess Aurora star
AZ USA
Member since: 6/9/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/8/10 9:46 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 32 people   
I use gallon size bags purchased at the dollar store for each project. When I am planning a project I:
1. Use a hole-puncher and place a hole in the center just under the zip.
2. Place the pattern envelope in the plastic bag.
3. Go through my notions stash and place applicable items in the bag.
4. Write a list of the needed notions and check off the items I already have.
5. I place a hanger through the hole of the project bag and hang it in my project closet. Once I get the fabric for the project, I can hang it on the hanger until I am ready for it. Once I'm done with the project, I already have a hanger for it!

The bags are reusable because I don't write anything on it since it's see-through.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
Excellent!
7/9/10 1:47 AM
JodieT said...
Great organizational idea! My mother always told me to finish my project before moving on to another and I am very guilty of having several things going at one time. That makes for a messy sewing room. LOVE THIS!
6/9/10 10:41 PM
rag doll said...
Fsabulous idea, will have to explore our 2 buck shop in OZ for something equivalent to your gallon bag!
6/9/10 9:14 PM
Lynn67 said...
Smart idea!
6/9/10 3:01 PM
Dianne Sebastopol CA said...
thanks Chris. I was already doing the bag on a hangar part but #3 & 4 were great additions. Keep the tips coming!
6/9/10 9:59 AM
Dianne Sebastopol CA said...
thanks Chris. I was already doing the bag on a hangar part but #3 & 4 were great additions. Keep the tips coming!
6/9/10 9:58 AM
LynnG said...
Now why didn't I think of that? I will be using your tip. Thanks!
6/9/10 9:45 AM
anika said...
Great idea. I've been using the plastic bag but hadn't thought of hanging them on hangers to organize. Thank you!
6/9/10 6:39 AM
moushka said...
Very nice system!
6/9/10 6:21 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I wish had enough storage space to have a project closet! =)
6/9/10 4:03 AM
lca said...
Good idea! I should do this for projects that I plan to take to our sew-in and then I wouldn't forget anything.
6/8/10 3:17 PM
JeanK said...
Nice way of keeping things organized. I'll have to try your method.
6/8/10 2:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.