Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Understanding Knits (Online Sewing Class)

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5170 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Posted by: SandiMacD
photo
Friend of PR
About SandiMacD star
FL USA
Member since: 2/8/09
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
classes reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/8/10 6:17 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: Understanding Knit Fabrics
Date of Class: Sept 2009
Instructor: Sarah Veblen

This is my first PR class. The online format was perfect for me because of health issues- I could go at my own pace and learn in my home.
I loved the lessons' easy-to-read print even though it did take up paper. I ended up rearranging them in notebooks at some point and then realized that the numbered pages were not footnoted with the lesson title or number. I would like to suggest that the footnotes on each page also include the lesson number or title in addition to the page number because if they ever get mixed up it is time intensive to reconstruct it based on only page numbers.
I ended up making my own index page and I also compiled the lessons into one pdf file so that I could more easily search for what I was looking for at my computer. And boy have I been through those lessons again and again, they are a great reference.
I initially stapled my fabric samples to the lesson sheets but then I had a hard time using them for the exercises so I tried just putting them in the page protectors. It was hard to get them out so I then tried putting them in CD cases. That turned out to be a brilliant idea- it made things so much easier as I "played" with those samples extensively during the class in many of the lessons. With the class over, I still find myself going to those CD cases. Each case is labeled with the fabric's content and my assessments from Sarah's lessons so whenever I am looking for a fabric, or if I find a fabric and want to figure out its properties, I can make some rapid comparisons.
I was able to log onto 3 of the chats (once I was sick) and learned so much from the questions that were posted. Sarah ALWAYS addressed each person that posted during our chats and on the classroom message board; she found a way to make you feel like a person! We had a great class and I felt welcomed by my classmates; it was just a great way to connect.
And the VIDEOS! They were a PERFECT complement to the pictures in Sarah's lessons and I am glad that Deepika is allowing us future access if we need it. As more PR classes come with video I would be willing to pay an addition annual PR cost to maintain access to a PR Video section.
Having returned to sewing after a 20+ year break, (I sewed avidly from 1958-1986), I was amazed at what the term knits encompassed. I feel so much more confident in making fabric-purchase decisions and am quite motivated to add PJs, good-fitting shells, T's and other garments to my (and my family's) wardrobe.
Sarah, I will definitely search out your classes in the future, in fact I am already enrolled in your Understanding Wool class.

Sandi MacDonald Dickenson
Clancy, MT
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
To me, three stars indicates 'average', yet your review shows that the class was extremely useful. Could you elaborate on how you came to your rating? It sounds like a very worthwhile class.
6/9/10 6:16 AM
tatica said...
Totally agree. I have not taken this class but took another one. It was good.
6/9/10 4:56 PM
SandiMacD said...
I must have reversed the scores. I had a choice of 1 to 3 stars or a thumbs down. Should I have selected the 1 star? I would give it 5 stars if I could.
6/10/10 10:05 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your excellent review. 3 stars is the maximum number of stars any class can get in this format, so you picked the right number.
6/11/10 9:35 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you for this helpful review. Sharing what you found helpful in organizing the class material was nice.
1/28/14 8:41 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us