SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Understanding Knits

A PatternReview.com Class
Viewed 5430 times
Posted by: SandiMacD
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandiMacD star
FL United States
Member since: 2/8/09
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
classes reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/8/10 6:17 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: Understanding Knit Fabrics
Date of Class: Sept 2009
Instructor: Sarah Veblen

This is my first PR class. The online format was perfect for me because of health issues- I could go at my own pace and learn in my home.
I loved the lessons' easy-to-read print even though it did take up paper. I ended up rearranging them in notebooks at some point and then realized that the numbered pages were not footnoted with the lesson title or number. I would like to suggest that the footnotes on each page also include the lesson number or title in addition to the page number because if they ever get mixed up it is time intensive to reconstruct it based on only page numbers.
I ended up making my own index page and I also compiled the lessons into one pdf file so that I could more easily search for what I was looking for at my computer. And boy have I been through those lessons again and again, they are a great reference.
I initially stapled my fabric samples to the lesson sheets but then I had a hard time using them for the exercises so I tried just putting them in the page protectors. It was hard to get them out so I then tried putting them in CD cases. That turned out to be a brilliant idea- it made things so much easier as I "played" with those samples extensively during the class in many of the lessons. With the class over, I still find myself going to those CD cases. Each case is labeled with the fabric's content and my assessments from Sarah's lessons so whenever I am looking for a fabric, or if I find a fabric and want to figure out its properties, I can make some rapid comparisons.
I was able to log onto 3 of the chats (once I was sick) and learned so much from the questions that were posted. Sarah ALWAYS addressed each person that posted during our chats and on the classroom message board; she found a way to make you feel like a person! We had a great class and I felt welcomed by my classmates; it was just a great way to connect.
And the VIDEOS! They were a PERFECT complement to the pictures in Sarah's lessons and I am glad that Deepika is allowing us future access if we need it. As more PR classes come with video I would be willing to pay an addition annual PR cost to maintain access to a PR Video section.
Having returned to sewing after a 20+ year break, (I sewed avidly from 1958-1986), I was amazed at what the term knits encompassed. I feel so much more confident in making fabric-purchase decisions and am quite motivated to add PJs, good-fitting shells, T's and other garments to my (and my family's) wardrobe.
Sarah, I will definitely search out your classes in the future, in fact I am already enrolled in your Understanding Wool class.

Sandi MacDonald Dickenson
Clancy, MT

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Thank you for this helpful review. Sharing what you found helpful in organizing the class material was nice.
1/28/14 8:41 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your excellent review. 3 stars is the maximum number of stars any class can get in this format, so you picked the right number.
6/11/10 9:35 AM
SandiMacD said...
I must have reversed the scores. I had a choice of 1 to 3 stars or a thumbs down. Should I have selected the 1 star? I would give it 5 stars if I could.
6/10/10 10:05 PM
tatica said...
Totally agree. I have not taken this class but took another one. It was good.
6/9/10 4:56 PM
moushka said...
To me, three stars indicates 'average', yet your review shows that the class was extremely useful. Could you elaborate on how you came to your rating? It sounds like a very worthwhile class.
6/9/10 6:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.