SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tape measure width

Viewed 5401 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/12/10 4:22 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
Did anybody else NOT know that tape measures are 5/8" wide? It never even occurred to me until yesterday. How many times could I have used that information over my 40-odd years of sewing?!

So just in case anyone else is as dense as I am, measure the width of your tape measure--I'm sure that there are lots of times when you could use an easy-to-get-to tool that's the width of the seam allowance.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
aqn said...
Umm... I knew that. All along. Yeah, that's the ticket! :) Seriously though, that's a very useful tidbit. Thanks.
7/5/10 5:23 PM
shoppern said...
DUH!!! It never occurred to me...... Thanks.
6/20/10 12:51 PM
celkalee said...
Oh my! I have been sewing forever and remember a teacher telling me this a long time ago.....I forgot! Thanks for the reminder!!!!!
6/19/10 11:51 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great tip! Thank you.
6/13/10 6:28 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
I have three tape measures and they are all different widths; one half, five eighths, and three quarters. Very handy.
6/13/10 11:54 AM
Julia C said...
I didn't know this either until I took a class a few years ago. I have both a 5/8" & a 1/4" which I use for SA.
6/13/10 9:59 AM
Patti B said...
I mentioned this at an ASG meeting and was met with looks of surprise. Of course, I do have one that isn't 5/8 wide but most are 5/8 (at least in the US).
6/13/10 9:28 AM
RLL said...
I knew this and forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder!
6/13/10 9:17 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
Wow! This is the kind of simple tip that I love. I have been sewing at least 40 years as well and I never even thought to measure it! Thanks!
6/13/10 7:09 AM
sewknitful said...
I does seem obvious but I didn't know either! Thanks!
6/13/10 0:50 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Thanks, never even thought of it. But now it will be very handy.
6/12/10 5:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.