SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Tape measure width

Viewed 5357 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/12/10 4:22 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
Did anybody else NOT know that tape measures are 5/8" wide? It never even occurred to me until yesterday. How many times could I have used that information over my 40-odd years of sewing?!

So just in case anyone else is as dense as I am, measure the width of your tape measure--I'm sure that there are lots of times when you could use an easy-to-get-to tool that's the width of the seam allowance.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
aqn said...
Umm... I knew that. All along. Yeah, that's the ticket! :) Seriously though, that's a very useful tidbit. Thanks.
7/5/10 5:23 PM
shoppern said...
DUH!!! It never occurred to me...... Thanks.
6/20/10 12:51 PM
celkalee said...
Oh my! I have been sewing forever and remember a teacher telling me this a long time ago.....I forgot! Thanks for the reminder!!!!!
6/19/10 11:51 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great tip! Thank you.
6/13/10 6:28 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
I have three tape measures and they are all different widths; one half, five eighths, and three quarters. Very handy.
6/13/10 11:54 AM
Julia C said...
I didn't know this either until I took a class a few years ago. I have both a 5/8" & a 1/4" which I use for SA.
6/13/10 9:59 AM
Patti B said...
I mentioned this at an ASG meeting and was met with looks of surprise. Of course, I do have one that isn't 5/8 wide but most are 5/8 (at least in the US).
6/13/10 9:28 AM
RLL said...
I knew this and forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder!
6/13/10 9:17 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
Wow! This is the kind of simple tip that I love. I have been sewing at least 40 years as well and I never even thought to measure it! Thanks!
6/13/10 7:09 AM
sewknitful said...
I does seem obvious but I didn't know either! Thanks!
6/13/10 0:50 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Thanks, never even thought of it. But now it will be very handy.
6/12/10 5:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

More Info
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.