SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Tape measure width

Viewed 5343 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 70
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/12/10 4:22 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
Did anybody else NOT know that tape measures are 5/8" wide? It never even occurred to me until yesterday. How many times could I have used that information over my 40-odd years of sewing?!

So just in case anyone else is as dense as I am, measure the width of your tape measure--I'm sure that there are lots of times when you could use an easy-to-get-to tool that's the width of the seam allowance.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Teeavilnor said...
Thanks, never even thought of it. But now it will be very handy.
6/12/10 5:26 PM
sewknitful said...
I does seem obvious but I didn't know either! Thanks!
6/13/10 0:50 AM
Rebecca Szetela said...
Wow! This is the kind of simple tip that I love. I have been sewing at least 40 years as well and I never even thought to measure it! Thanks!
6/13/10 7:09 AM
RLL said...
I knew this and forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder!
6/13/10 9:17 AM
Patti B said...
I mentioned this at an ASG meeting and was met with looks of surprise. Of course, I do have one that isn't 5/8 wide but most are 5/8 (at least in the US).
6/13/10 9:28 AM
Julia C said...
I didn't know this either until I took a class a few years ago. I have both a 5/8" & a 1/4" which I use for SA.
6/13/10 9:59 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
I have three tape measures and they are all different widths; one half, five eighths, and three quarters. Very handy.
6/13/10 11:54 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Great tip! Thank you.
6/13/10 6:28 PM
celkalee said...
Oh my! I have been sewing forever and remember a teacher telling me this a long time ago.....I forgot! Thanks for the reminder!!!!!
6/19/10 11:51 PM
shoppern said...
DUH!!! It never occurred to me...... Thanks.
6/20/10 12:51 PM
aqn said...
Umm... I knew that. All along. Yeah, that's the ticket! :) Seriously though, that's a very useful tidbit. Thanks.
7/5/10 5:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.