SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > impossible to sew on knits

Viewed 5176 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/14/10 11:16 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
There are times when you do everything right on a knit and it still will not submit to you sewing on it.

You use the jersey/ stretch/ ballpoint needle and you use tissue paper (which works but is too much work)...

As the last option, I interface the seams.

I sew with 1/4 inch or 1/2 inseams ,as I was trained in the garment industry ,so I cut fusible knit interfacing a little bigger that those measurements so that it is caught in the seamline.

Knit interfacing stretches crosswise so determine what direction you want it to stretch or not stretch.

This really works
but it is a labor of love...

Copy and Past this to see fusi-knit
http://www.joann.com/joann/catalog/productdetail.jsp?CATID=cat3136&PRODID=prd14459

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
Good tip but you might want to give a little more detail of the interfacing you used. I bought a product at a sewing expo for this very application and now can't remember the name. But like you say it does help immensely. One top I used it on practically every edge. and the top turned out very nice.
6/14/10 12:47 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Good tip but you might want to give a little more detail of the interfacing you used. I bought a product at a sewing expo for this very application and now can't remember the name. But like you say it does help immensely. One top I used it on practically every edge. and the top turned out very nice.
6/14/10 12:47 PM
ryansmumAria said...
loreo, All the fusible knits seem to be the same weight so any fusible knit interfacing you can find. Joann's sells one that is called Fusi-knit I believe. Loreo, I'm glad to hear someone else uses this technique. I've never read about it anywhere, I just happened to look at a garment closely and noticed it. It was applied on a pair of linen pants and the purpose was to prevent raveling. I decided to try it on impossible knits and it worked! Where did you hear about it? It is a brilliant idea although very tedious and I do not enjoy the process. I also use it on every edge when required. Now I try to find better behaving knits and avoid ones that might need this application.
6/14/10 3:01 PM
deesews said...
Do you think washaway stabilizer (like Solvy) would work?
6/15/10 0:25 AM
ryansmumAria said...
deesews, I did not have any luck trying solvy for knits but it has helped out in other situations.
6/15/10 1:39 AM
kws said...
Thanks for the tip
6/15/10 10:41 AM
lynne1nor said...
Great piece of advice! Does this help with puckering?
6/15/10 4:31 PM
ryansmumAria said...
lunne, YES!!! it eliminates puckering! At least on the knits I have worked on... I suppose there is always a first time where it doesn't work but it is almost like magic to me~
6/15/10 8:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.