SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Old Patterns

Viewed 5091 times
Posted by: Sunflower Ann
photo

 
 
About Sunflower Ann
KS USA
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/7/03 5:58 PM
My Great Aunt was a dressmaker. She passed away and left many patterns which I now have. Patterns are from the early 1940's thru the late 80's. There are many different brands including some that were ordered from newspapers. Any ideas about how to share them with people?

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Perhaps scanning them, and put them in a photo album so others can see what kind of patterns you own.
9/8/03 5:09 AM
Gemma said...
Wow! I'm sorry about your aunt, but what a wonderful inheritance. Since she was a dressmaker, the patterns are probably in a variety of sizes. As Els suggested, it would be great if you could scan them and show them on this site. I sew vintage patterns and am particularly interested in the 1940s through early '60s, bust size 32. I've been looking everywhere for Advance #2915 (1942), McCall #6372 (1946), McCall 7208 ('40s) and McCall #1596 ('50s). I wish vintage pattern sites would sell copies of patterns as well as the originals, because only one person can have the originals. I've been sewing since the early 1960s and could scream when I think of all the old patterns I didn't keep from back then.
9/9/03 10:45 AM
AnneM said...
Another option is to add to or start a "pattern box" at your local library. Someone mentioned that their library did this. People put in patterns that they no longer used, & could pick up some they were interested in. Of course, there is always EBAY.
9/9/03 7:16 PM
Lou. said...
I have only one old pattern, that my nan gave me, it's a pattern for making the characters off the Magic Roundabout....
9/10/03 8:06 AM
KiwiWendy said...
If you want them available for posterity, and not profit, there's always the Vintage Pattern Lending Library www.vpll.org
9/15/03 2:30 AM
Rab said...
Lou. The Magic Roundabout brings back memories of an early age. Is there any way I might obtain a copy of this pattern? Especially Florence, Dylan, and Mr. Zebedee. Not forgetting Dougal. Thanks. Rab.
1/15/04 10:51 PM
candyo said...
Not to be rude, but this would've been better suited for the message boards.
2/23/04 2:58 AM
sheila moo said...
lou 9/10/03 rab 1/15/04 Any advice on obtaining vintage patterns of Magic Roundabout characters would be most welcome Sheilamoo
10/6/06 9:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.