SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > trim threads as you go

Viewed 5304 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/17/10 2:17 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I've noticed many students have dangling threads through out their garments which looks, well, ugly.

Make it a practice to cut each one as you approach it. Use small scissors or better yet, snippers to this. It is a pain but I have found that it is easier to do as you go rather than having to do it all at the end and inevitably, miss a few.

I prefer this method when I sew that last stitch as I like it to be over and not have to spend more time going back over the garment to snip each thread.

I'm always looking for little things (like this) to make sewing easier.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MissFit said...
It was only recently that I found out that not all sewers do the Sew, Clip, Press. I never even thought there was an option not to
6/20/10 10:03 AM
joysew said...
Many years ago, I used to sew upholstery for GM & "hanging threads" was one of their favorite pet peeves. Each hanging thread on a set cover was counted as a demerit against your quality record!
6/19/10 6:56 PM
shoppern said...
This is especially important for sewers who tend to get "thread nests" when they sew. One fewer thread to tangle!
6/18/10 2:31 PM
vasallese said...
I agree with you. I'm not sure which is more important, pressing or trimming loose threads.
6/18/10 2:06 PM
SandyinMO said...
This is the one thing that always bugged me about the garments my mom made for me when I was growing up. I try to be diligent in this matter.
6/18/10 1:31 PM
elsew said...
I agree....and especially important tip to pass on to any new stitcher that you are mentoring.
6/18/10 8:48 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I agree totally with you. I did a sewing course last year which was pretty useless except for that one tip.
6/18/10 1:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

More Info
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.