SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > trim threads as you go

Viewed 5271 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/17/10 2:17 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
I've noticed many students have dangling threads through out their garments which looks, well, ugly.

Make it a practice to cut each one as you approach it. Use small scissors or better yet, snippers to this. It is a pain but I have found that it is easier to do as you go rather than having to do it all at the end and inevitably, miss a few.

I prefer this method when I sew that last stitch as I like it to be over and not have to spend more time going back over the garment to snip each thread.

I'm always looking for little things (like this) to make sewing easier.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
I agree totally with you. I did a sewing course last year which was pretty useless except for that one tip.
6/18/10 1:33 AM
elsew said...
I agree....and especially important tip to pass on to any new stitcher that you are mentoring.
6/18/10 8:48 AM
SandyinMO said...
This is the one thing that always bugged me about the garments my mom made for me when I was growing up. I try to be diligent in this matter.
6/18/10 1:31 PM
vasallese said...
I agree with you. I'm not sure which is more important, pressing or trimming loose threads.
6/18/10 2:06 PM
shoppern said...
This is especially important for sewers who tend to get "thread nests" when they sew. One fewer thread to tangle!
6/18/10 2:31 PM
joysew said...
Many years ago, I used to sew upholstery for GM & "hanging threads" was one of their favorite pet peeves. Each hanging thread on a set cover was counted as a demerit against your quality record!
6/19/10 6:56 PM
MissFit said...
It was only recently that I found out that not all sewers do the Sew, Clip, Press. I never even thought there was an option not to
6/20/10 10:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

J Stern Designs The Tee Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.