SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Paper Suggestion

Viewed 5496 times
Posted by: Auntie Susan
photo

 
 
About Auntie Susan star
Canada
Member since: 12/8/09
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/23/10 11:03 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 28 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I have used many different types of paper for drafting and tracing patterns from sheets of gift wrap tissue (too thin and tears easily), freezer paper (curls up), wax paper, and 20 lb. copy paper taped together (durable, but too stiff to "tissue fit"). None of these were ideal. I recently came across Sketch Paper in the drafting section of my local hobby store (Hobby Lobby), it is an 8 lb. lightweight tracing paper that comes in a roll of 18 in. x 50 yds for $16.99. I used the website coupon for 40% off. So far this is the best I have found. You can use felt-tip pens with no bleed through, it does not curl as much as freezer or wax paper, and it is transparent enough to see through for tracing. Works great for draping and tissue fitting on my dress form as well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
wendlesue said...
This is exactly what I use. Got mine at AC Moore, 50% off, so $8, and it lasted me a year. I just bought my second roll. It is perfect!
6/23/10 3:26 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you for your tip!
6/23/10 6:02 PM
TJSEWS said...
Thanks so much for your tip. I will look for it at my local AC Moore and hope that I will have the same luck as wendlesue (my local AC Moore is rather small). Thanks ladies!
6/24/10 10:43 AM
MizLiz said...
This is a great tip. My question is does it come any wider? I use to buy great tracing paper from Charrette Corporation which is now under a new name (escapes me) This came in widths and was great - you could avoid taping it together. I will certainly check out AC Moore. Thanx !!
6/24/10 11:39 AM
RLL said...
I too love tracing paper. I buy from DickBlick.com. I usually get the 24" wide, 50 yard roll, 8lb....cost is $11.99 plus shipping (boo). I do not recall ever needing wider than the 24", but they do also have a 36" wide. Of course, a 50% coupon and no shipping sounds pretty darn good! I may do that and save my 24 " for only when I need it that wide.
6/24/10 3:01 PM
JodieT said...
Thank you for the tip. I will look for this. I have a Hobby Lobby here in my town.
6/24/10 6:26 PM
mssewcrazy said...
There is a Hobby Lobby in the next town so I will check on this when I am there with a coupon. Thanks.
6/25/10 9:14 AM
snippy7 said...
Thank you for the tip; I was just on my way to Joann's to try to find something for tracing. My Do-Sew just doesn't cut it! I will go to Hobby Lobby instead!
6/28/10 12:53 PM
Holmar said...
I just ordered this kind of tracing paper from Curry's Art Supply Store...I ordered the 42"x20yard roll for $14.99 plus the shipping charge was $12.00 ..a little expensive...but I really wanted the wider width. I am hoping this will be the tracing paper I've been looking for...I'll review it when I receive my roll of paper. I'm tired of taping the paper together to get the length and width I need!
11/8/12 2:09 PM
Dressed2Suit said...
I like to buy table paper - the kind you buy for one-time table cloth. It's 36" wide and doesn't tear easily. Granted I do very little tissue fitting (so far). I use it mainly for drafting from scratch. Best of all, it's cheap.
7/31/13 0:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.