SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Homemade pattern sheet holder

Viewed 5244 times
Posted by: knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeen starstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 69 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/27/10 3:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
While I don't always sew a garment exactly as the pattern sheet instructs, I like to have it close at hand. I used an extra thread holder and a souvenir clip. I can move the holder as far away or a close as I want for easy viewing. Check out my blog for the particulars.

http://smokingneedlesknitting.blogspot.com/2010/06/easy-pattern-sheet-holder.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
Great idea and cheaper than my $40 pattern guide holder!
6/27/10 7:02 PM
Sewing Joe said...
That a clever idea. I'm in awe of the neatly organized doo dad all your tools are attached to, and I like the color of your sewing area!
6/27/10 7:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Excellent! I think that's about as good as an excuse as I've ever heard for having to go to Hawaii: But honey, I need to get a souvenir clip to hold my patterns! =)
6/28/10 4:23 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Great idea and I was wanting an excuse to buy another thread holder since I move one around.
6/28/10 7:35 AM
SandiMacD said...
What a great idea! I have one that I never use. I am always trying to follow instructions from PR online classes so I am excited to try this next time.
6/28/10 8:28 AM
solosmocker said...
Love this idea. It will go to work in the studio immediately. Thanks.
6/28/10 7:33 PM
j222b said...
Great idea. I was just going to order a cast iron thread holder. Did you not find it useful for sewing with large spoon thread? or what?
6/29/10 9:58 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
J22b the thread hold works great when using cone yarn it's just that I don't use cone yarn on my regular machine and had this one laying around not being used. Necessity is the mother or invention and it was necessary that I get the pattern sheet closer to me so that I can see!
6/29/10 10:24 PM
j222b said...
KMQueen: Thanks for the reply! I like your invention--maybe I'll order two thread holders-one for the sm and one for the instructions. LOL.
7/1/10 2:09 PM
LizBa said...
Very clever. Thanks for the tip. I also like your knitting goals. I too have 2 knitting machines and have been disappointed so far with the garments I have made. Good luck with your goals!
7/12/10 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.