SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Homemade pattern sheet holder

Viewed 5282 times
Posted by: knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeen starstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 70 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/27/10 3:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
While I don't always sew a garment exactly as the pattern sheet instructs, I like to have it close at hand. I used an extra thread holder and a souvenir clip. I can move the holder as far away or a close as I want for easy viewing. Check out my blog for the particulars.

http://smokingneedlesknitting.blogspot.com/2010/06/easy-pattern-sheet-holder.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
LizBa said...
Very clever. Thanks for the tip. I also like your knitting goals. I too have 2 knitting machines and have been disappointed so far with the garments I have made. Good luck with your goals!
7/12/10 5:51 PM
j222b said...
KMQueen: Thanks for the reply! I like your invention--maybe I'll order two thread holders-one for the sm and one for the instructions. LOL.
7/1/10 2:09 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
J22b the thread hold works great when using cone yarn it's just that I don't use cone yarn on my regular machine and had this one laying around not being used. Necessity is the mother or invention and it was necessary that I get the pattern sheet closer to me so that I can see!
6/29/10 10:24 PM
j222b said...
Great idea. I was just going to order a cast iron thread holder. Did you not find it useful for sewing with large spoon thread? or what?
6/29/10 9:58 PM
solosmocker said...
Love this idea. It will go to work in the studio immediately. Thanks.
6/28/10 7:33 PM
SandiMacD said...
What a great idea! I have one that I never use. I am always trying to follow instructions from PR online classes so I am excited to try this next time.
6/28/10 8:28 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Great idea and I was wanting an excuse to buy another thread holder since I move one around.
6/28/10 7:35 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Excellent! I think that's about as good as an excuse as I've ever heard for having to go to Hawaii: But honey, I need to get a souvenir clip to hold my patterns! =)
6/28/10 4:23 AM
Sewing Joe said...
That a clever idea. I'm in awe of the neatly organized doo dad all your tools are attached to, and I like the color of your sewing area!
6/27/10 7:05 PM
mhk3boys said...
Great idea and cheaper than my $40 pattern guide holder!
6/27/10 7:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

More Info
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.