SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Homemade pattern sheet holder

Viewed 5221 times
Posted by: knitmachinequeen
photo

 
 
About knitmachinequeen starstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 68 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/27/10 3:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
While I don't always sew a garment exactly as the pattern sheet instructs, I like to have it close at hand. I used an extra thread holder and a souvenir clip. I can move the holder as far away or a close as I want for easy viewing. Check out my blog for the particulars.

http://smokingneedlesknitting.blogspot.com/2010/06/easy-pattern-sheet-holder.html

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
Great idea and cheaper than my $40 pattern guide holder!
6/27/10 7:02 PM
Sewing Joe said...
That a clever idea. I'm in awe of the neatly organized doo dad all your tools are attached to, and I like the color of your sewing area!
6/27/10 7:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Excellent! I think that's about as good as an excuse as I've ever heard for having to go to Hawaii: But honey, I need to get a souvenir clip to hold my patterns! =)
6/28/10 4:23 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Great idea and I was wanting an excuse to buy another thread holder since I move one around.
6/28/10 7:35 AM
SandiMacD said...
What a great idea! I have one that I never use. I am always trying to follow instructions from PR online classes so I am excited to try this next time.
6/28/10 8:28 AM
solosmocker said...
Love this idea. It will go to work in the studio immediately. Thanks.
6/28/10 7:33 PM
j222b said...
Great idea. I was just going to order a cast iron thread holder. Did you not find it useful for sewing with large spoon thread? or what?
6/29/10 9:58 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
J22b the thread hold works great when using cone yarn it's just that I don't use cone yarn on my regular machine and had this one laying around not being used. Necessity is the mother or invention and it was necessary that I get the pattern sheet closer to me so that I can see!
6/29/10 10:24 PM
j222b said...
KMQueen: Thanks for the reply! I like your invention--maybe I'll order two thread holders-one for the sm and one for the instructions. LOL.
7/1/10 2:09 PM
LizBa said...
Very clever. Thanks for the tip. I also like your knitting goals. I too have 2 knitting machines and have been disappointed so far with the garments I have made. Good luck with your goals!
7/12/10 5:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.