SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Serger Thread Storage

Viewed 5373 times
Posted by: Gildarose
photo

 
 
About Gildarose
Member since: 11/22/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/30/10 7:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
After reading about members getting serger thread and did not know where they were going to store it, I wanted to make sure everyone knew my very convenient way to store it. This may have been on here before, but just in case it hasn't , I am posting it. It is an old tip and not original with me.

I use men's multiple pant hangers and hang them in my sewing room closet. I purchased some cheap CLEAR plastic zippered garment bags at Wall mart and shortened them , sewing the bottom closed , using bias tape for reinforcement. I made the bag 8-10 " longer than the hanger, I stored the hanger in the garment bag, it keeps the thread dust free and I can easily see the thread I am needing, and the zipper makes them easily accessible . The thread is also out of the light which I heard damages it.
Note: [ The hangers are called 'trousers hangers' . They open on the side of ea. rod so you just slide the cones on just like the pants slide on , 3 cones will fit on ea. rod.]

This has always worked well for me and I have a very small sewing room. 12 maxi lock will store on ea. hanger set. With the zippered covers shortened you can put 4 more cones in the bottom of the bag or more if you need to. I have 6 of these and have had them for about 18 years and they are still doing great.


I am sorry I don't have a picture but you can see what the hangers look like on this site:

http://www.hangercity.com/5tiswarmslra.html



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
BeckyNoSleep said...
I think I get the idea, but do you have a picture you could add to show us what you mean? I sew out of a wall closet, so this sounds perfect for me.
6/30/10 3:04 PM
Gildarose said...
I don't know how to include a picture but I found them on the net. They are called 'trousers hangers' and you can see them here. I got mine at Walmart's. They open on the side of ea. rod so you just slide the cones on and close it back up. They work great! http://www.stacksandstacks.com/clothes-hanger-multiple-slack-set-of-2?id=176&sku=44124&utm_medium=gan&utm_source=gan
6/30/10 3:40 PM
Gildarose said...
Here is another site that shows them. Walmarts were much cheaper. http://www.hangercity.com/5tiswarmslra.html
6/30/10 3:40 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
Thanks Gilda!
6/30/10 6:26 PM
Gildarose said...
Becky, You are very welcome!
6/30/10 8:20 PM
petro said...
Great idea, thanks for passing it on!
7/1/10 3:12 AM
Pam Padilla said...
What a super hint! Thanks for sharing.
7/1/10 9:53 AM
elsew said...
Once you made clear that you thread the cones on the 'rods' of the pants hanger, I got the idea. This is a super idea and one I am going to pursue. Thanks so much for posting this excellent tip.
7/1/10 10:40 AM
Gildarose said...
I have tried to edit this tip to make it clear. I hope I have included enough info so it is understandable. I originally wrote the tip at 6 am and w/o coffee. But I find I am not doing any better at noon and maybe too much coffee. So please ask if there is anything that is not clear. I appreciate so much the nice comments. Thanks elsew, I did not realize that I had not put in the tip itself about the ' rods opening on the side'. In looking on line for the picture I saw some that did not open and those won't work, thanks!
7/1/10 1:09 PM
vasallese said...
smart idea. Thanks.
7/1/10 2:18 PM
Mufffet said...
Brilliant! Love this idea.
12/2/11 10:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.