SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Serger Thread Storage

Viewed 5314 times
Posted by: Gildarose
photo

 
 
About Gildarose
Member since: 11/22/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/30/10 7:09 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
After reading about members getting serger thread and did not know where they were going to store it, I wanted to make sure everyone knew my very convenient way to store it. This may have been on here before, but just in case it hasn't , I am posting it. It is an old tip and not original with me.

I use men's multiple pant hangers and hang them in my sewing room closet. I purchased some cheap CLEAR plastic zippered garment bags at Wall mart and shortened them , sewing the bottom closed , using bias tape for reinforcement. I made the bag 8-10 " longer than the hanger, I stored the hanger in the garment bag, it keeps the thread dust free and I can easily see the thread I am needing, and the zipper makes them easily accessible . The thread is also out of the light which I heard damages it.
Note: [ The hangers are called 'trousers hangers' . They open on the side of ea. rod so you just slide the cones on just like the pants slide on , 3 cones will fit on ea. rod.]

This has always worked well for me and I have a very small sewing room. 12 maxi lock will store on ea. hanger set. With the zippered covers shortened you can put 4 more cones in the bottom of the bag or more if you need to. I have 6 of these and have had them for about 18 years and they are still doing great.


I am sorry I don't have a picture but you can see what the hangers look like on this site:

http://www.hangercity.com/5tiswarmslra.html



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
BeckyNoSleep said...
I think I get the idea, but do you have a picture you could add to show us what you mean? I sew out of a wall closet, so this sounds perfect for me.
6/30/10 3:04 PM
Gildarose said...
I don't know how to include a picture but I found them on the net. They are called 'trousers hangers' and you can see them here. I got mine at Walmart's. They open on the side of ea. rod so you just slide the cones on and close it back up. They work great! http://www.stacksandstacks.com/clothes-hanger-multiple-slack-set-of-2?id=176&sku=44124&utm_medium=gan&utm_source=gan
6/30/10 3:40 PM
Gildarose said...
Here is another site that shows them. Walmarts were much cheaper. http://www.hangercity.com/5tiswarmslra.html
6/30/10 3:40 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
Thanks Gilda!
6/30/10 6:26 PM
Gildarose said...
Becky, You are very welcome!
6/30/10 8:20 PM
petro said...
Great idea, thanks for passing it on!
7/1/10 3:12 AM
Pam Padilla said...
What a super hint! Thanks for sharing.
7/1/10 9:53 AM
elsew said...
Once you made clear that you thread the cones on the 'rods' of the pants hanger, I got the idea. This is a super idea and one I am going to pursue. Thanks so much for posting this excellent tip.
7/1/10 10:40 AM
Gildarose said...
I have tried to edit this tip to make it clear. I hope I have included enough info so it is understandable. I originally wrote the tip at 6 am and w/o coffee. But I find I am not doing any better at noon and maybe too much coffee. So please ask if there is anything that is not clear. I appreciate so much the nice comments. Thanks elsew, I did not realize that I had not put in the tip itself about the ' rods opening on the side'. In looking on line for the picture I saw some that did not open and those won't work, thanks!
7/1/10 1:09 PM
vasallese said...
smart idea. Thanks.
7/1/10 2:18 PM
Mufffet said...
Brilliant! Love this idea.
12/2/11 10:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.