SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Class Reviews > Seams and Hems

Nevada, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5999 times
Posted by: KarenP
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KarenP star
NV USA
Member since: 8/19/02
Reviews: 43 (classes: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/9/03 2:49 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
When I saw this class advertised in the Sierra Sewing Center flyer, I jumped at the opportunity. There are very few sewing classes available in Reno and even fewer for garment sewing (most classes are geared towards quilters or embroidery).

I really learned a lot in this class. It covered Hong Kong seams, french seams, flat-felled seams, tailored seams, Hong Kong hems, machine blind hems, double-fold hems, baby hems, and twin-needls hems for t-shirts. For each type of seam or hem, each student created a sample using our own swatches and machines after a demo by the instructor. The instructor provided us each with a notebook with descriptions of each seam and hem and a place to store our completed samples.

This class was great because I was able to try several new techniques that I would have been too afraid to try on my own. Now I will feel more confident when trying one of these techniques on an actual garment.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Thomasine said... (11/13/08 1:19 AM) Reply
It's November 2008 and I'd like to give my daughter basic sewing lessons for Christmas. Does anyone know of quality classes in Reno, NV??
sew obsessed said... (4/28/04 7:34 PM) Reply
Karen, thank you so much for your review of my class. I love teaching elements of garment construction and it's wonderfull when someone has really enjoyed my class and taken the time to say so. Please tell the staff at Sierra Sewing what types of garment classes you would like to attend. It's very helpful to me in planning future classes. Thanks again, Michelle Gillmartin
KarenP said... (9/17/03 10:49 AM) Reply
Linda, If you get yourself on Sierra Sewing's mailing list you will receive the schedule for the next round of classes. I think this one filled quickly!
Katharine in BXL said... (9/16/03 3:13 PM) Reply
Karen, lucky you! I wish I were there in class with you. What a wonderful class!
Lupie Linda said... (9/15/03 2:40 PM) Reply
I live in Reno too! I went to Sierra Sewing to see the dates scheduled for the class. It was the only one on seams offered for this quarter. I am glad you posted on it. I will check it out in the future. Your review was great. Thanks.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.