SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Gathering made easy - uphostery thread

Viewed 5148 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/3/10 8:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
I had a terrible time make gathers recently and decided to find a way of making it easier so I wouldn't lose any more of my mind.

I tried various things and what I found that worked best was to use heavy thread specifically Uphostery thread that I found at Joann's.

The brand I used is Coats - extra strong.

What a difference!

I wound it on the bobbin (only) and it fed through just fine. I wasn't sure if it was too thick at first.

I sewed a straight stitch and used different lengths to see if that might make a difference (didn't notice one) and it gathered up instantly by pulling on the bobbing thread.

It was a miracle!

I have horrible memories of breaking threads and having it all fall apart so I avoided anything with gathers.

Gosh I wish I knew this long ago...

Edit~
THis thread works well if you run a zigzag stitch over it rather than putting it in the bobbin. This looks good on home dec stuff. I don't use it when I want "tiny delicate" gathers - to get those you need to do a straight stitch.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
katie lynne said...
I was taught to sew a double row of basting so there's two threads to pull on at the same time, thereby reducing the risk of one thread by itself breaking. But this sounds like a capital idea! Thanks!
7/4/10 1:48 AM
paulakiss said...
Great idea! I'm not good at gathering, so for large areas needing gathers, I do tiny pleats. It is more time conusming though. ugh. I'll try your idea next time! Thanks!
7/4/10 2:23 AM
RLL said...
I use dental floss, works great and if you use mint, smells good too!
7/4/10 9:50 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Rll, Do you hand wind your dental floss onto the bobbin? I like that it smells good!
7/4/10 10:45 AM
Charrlie said...
Thank you I will give this a try.
7/4/10 12:31 PM
Lizz said...
You can also do a narrow zigzag stitch over your heavy thread (I use extra strong from Mettler). It pulls up without hardly a tug!
7/4/10 1:16 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Great tip! I will have to try this. Thanks.
7/4/10 4:21 PM
Teeavilnor said...
I tried it, used extra heavy #80 cotton covered polyester thread. And it worked I locked the first stitch. I'm making KS 3783 3 ruffles I have never made ruffles before, I tried everything I finally used clear elastic on the first two, and the 3rd one I tried your tip it worked. Thank you.
7/4/10 8:25 PM
RLL said...
Sorry, I am just getting back to this. Yes, handwind on the bobbin. I have also just zigzagged over it if I don't want to take the time to handwind. The best part is that the dental floss is free. My dentist always gives a goodie bag with new brush and several floss containers. It's a lot more than we can use on our teeth :)
7/6/10 4:26 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
You've done it again!!! I love your tips and especially this one on gathers. I agree with you--these tips will make my current projects so much easier--especially since I am making doll clothes for my granddaughers and need some "tiny delicate" gathers.
7/7/10 10:56 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
You've done it again!!! I love your tips and especially this one on gathers. I agree with you--these tips will make my current projects so much easier--especially since I am making doll clothes for my granddaughers and need some "tiny delicate" gathers.
7/7/10 10:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.