SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Gathering made easy - uphostery thread

Viewed 5182 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/3/10 8:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
I had a terrible time make gathers recently and decided to find a way of making it easier so I wouldn't lose any more of my mind.

I tried various things and what I found that worked best was to use heavy thread specifically Uphostery thread that I found at Joann's.

The brand I used is Coats - extra strong.

What a difference!

I wound it on the bobbin (only) and it fed through just fine. I wasn't sure if it was too thick at first.

I sewed a straight stitch and used different lengths to see if that might make a difference (didn't notice one) and it gathered up instantly by pulling on the bobbing thread.

It was a miracle!

I have horrible memories of breaking threads and having it all fall apart so I avoided anything with gathers.

Gosh I wish I knew this long ago...

Edit~
THis thread works well if you run a zigzag stitch over it rather than putting it in the bobbin. This looks good on home dec stuff. I don't use it when I want "tiny delicate" gathers - to get those you need to do a straight stitch.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
katie lynne said...
I was taught to sew a double row of basting so there's two threads to pull on at the same time, thereby reducing the risk of one thread by itself breaking. But this sounds like a capital idea! Thanks!
7/4/10 1:48 AM
paulakiss said...
Great idea! I'm not good at gathering, so for large areas needing gathers, I do tiny pleats. It is more time conusming though. ugh. I'll try your idea next time! Thanks!
7/4/10 2:23 AM
RLL said...
I use dental floss, works great and if you use mint, smells good too!
7/4/10 9:50 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Rll, Do you hand wind your dental floss onto the bobbin? I like that it smells good!
7/4/10 10:45 AM
Charrlie said...
Thank you I will give this a try.
7/4/10 12:31 PM
Lizz said...
You can also do a narrow zigzag stitch over your heavy thread (I use extra strong from Mettler). It pulls up without hardly a tug!
7/4/10 1:16 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Great tip! I will have to try this. Thanks.
7/4/10 4:21 PM
Teeavilnor said...
I tried it, used extra heavy #80 cotton covered polyester thread. And it worked I locked the first stitch. I'm making KS 3783 3 ruffles I have never made ruffles before, I tried everything I finally used clear elastic on the first two, and the 3rd one I tried your tip it worked. Thank you.
7/4/10 8:25 PM
RLL said...
Sorry, I am just getting back to this. Yes, handwind on the bobbin. I have also just zigzagged over it if I don't want to take the time to handwind. The best part is that the dental floss is free. My dentist always gives a goodie bag with new brush and several floss containers. It's a lot more than we can use on our teeth :)
7/6/10 4:26 PM
JoaniesJosh said...
You've done it again!!! I love your tips and especially this one on gathers. I agree with you--these tips will make my current projects so much easier--especially since I am making doll clothes for my granddaughers and need some "tiny delicate" gathers.
7/7/10 10:56 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
You've done it again!!! I love your tips and especially this one on gathers. I agree with you--these tips will make my current projects so much easier--especially since I am making doll clothes for my granddaughers and need some "tiny delicate" gathers.
7/7/10 10:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.