Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Pattern Draft Your Own Bodice - Men or Women (Sewing Class Review)
New York, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5446 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Posted by: Phoenix461
photo
About Phoenix461 star
NY USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/10 12:56 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Web site/URL: photo
This was my second class with Kenneth King at Sew Fast Sew Easy. The first being the Draft Your Own Pant class in November 2009 and this moulage class was done in January 2010.

This was a series of 4 weekly sessions lasting approximately 3 hours each week. I definitely needed this class as I have issues with doing the full bust adjustment/alteration (FBA) on commercial patterns. (This is probably one of the reasons I gave up on sewing many years ago.)

True to form, Kenneth's instructions are clear/concise and interspersed with anecdotes and tips which lends to making his class interesting and fun. Kenneth is a great teacher. He is knowledgeable, patient and never condescending. He answers all your questions and encourages you.

This class had 5 students (including myself) with varying levels of sewing skills from beginner and above. We each got individual attention starting with taking measurements, calculation of the measurements to be put on draft pattern paper and actually drafting the bodice moulage. After cutting/stitching up the moulage, we tried them on in class and Kenneth worked with us individually to make necessary adjustments. The adjustments were then transferred to the paper pattern. From the pattern for the moulage, we drafted a sloper for a blouse/dress, jacket and coat.

The class did not address drafting necklines, collars or sleeves. The fact that I got a great fitting moulage is a miracle in itself after 4 classes. I will use the moulage to help me pad out my dress form and/or to make a bustier.

The moulage is more detailed in Kenneth's CD book "The Moulage" which is available here and on his website.

We asked Kenneth if we could use the slopers to help with altering commercial patterns and he said yes. He also recommended Lynda Maynard's CD book "Demystifying Fit" (available here on PatternReview) which goes into detail about using the sloper to alter commercial patterns.

I would definitely recommend this class or any of Kenneth's classes. As I said previously, the classes are not only informative, they are fun!

Now if we could get Kenneth to do a tailoring/coat class that would be over the top!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
What a great class.
7/6/10 11:11 AM
moushka said...
Nothing beats hands on experience, especially with a master teacher like Kenneth King. I envy you being able to take these classes. Would love to hear how you used your new knowledge in your sewing.
7/6/10 12:42 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Where was this held? (or am I missing something..)
7/14/10 7:55 PM
Phoenix461 said...
This class is held at Sew Fast Sew Easy located at 147 West 35th Street, New York, NY. You can check their website at www.sewfastseweasy.com.
7/15/10 6:39 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us