SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Pattern Draft Your Own Bodice - Men or Women

New York, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5608 times
Posted by: Phoenix461
photo

 
 
About Phoenix461 star
NY USA
Member since: 9/18/09
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/5/10 12:56 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This was my second class with Kenneth King at Sew Fast Sew Easy. The first being the Draft Your Own Pant class in November 2009 and this moulage class was done in January 2010.

This was a series of 4 weekly sessions lasting approximately 3 hours each week. I definitely needed this class as I have issues with doing the full bust adjustment/alteration (FBA) on commercial patterns. (This is probably one of the reasons I gave up on sewing many years ago.)

True to form, Kenneth's instructions are clear/concise and interspersed with anecdotes and tips which lends to making his class interesting and fun. Kenneth is a great teacher. He is knowledgeable, patient and never condescending. He answers all your questions and encourages you.

This class had 5 students (including myself) with varying levels of sewing skills from beginner and above. We each got individual attention starting with taking measurements, calculation of the measurements to be put on draft pattern paper and actually drafting the bodice moulage. After cutting/stitching up the moulage, we tried them on in class and Kenneth worked with us individually to make necessary adjustments. The adjustments were then transferred to the paper pattern. From the pattern for the moulage, we drafted a sloper for a blouse/dress, jacket and coat.

The class did not address drafting necklines, collars or sleeves. The fact that I got a great fitting moulage is a miracle in itself after 4 classes. I will use the moulage to help me pad out my dress form and/or to make a bustier.

The moulage is more detailed in Kenneth's CD book "The Moulage" which is available here and on his website.

We asked Kenneth if we could use the slopers to help with altering commercial patterns and he said yes. He also recommended Lynda Maynard's CD book "Demystifying Fit" (available here on PatternReview) which goes into detail about using the sloper to alter commercial patterns.

I would definitely recommend this class or any of Kenneth's classes. As I said previously, the classes are not only informative, they are fun!

Now if we could get Kenneth to do a tailoring/coat class that would be over the top!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
What a great class.
7/6/10 11:11 AM
moushka said...
Nothing beats hands on experience, especially with a master teacher like Kenneth King. I envy you being able to take these classes. Would love to hear how you used your new knowledge in your sewing.
7/6/10 12:42 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Where was this held? (or am I missing something..)
7/14/10 7:55 PM
Phoenix461 said...
This class is held at Sew Fast Sew Easy located at 147 West 35th Street, New York, NY. You can check their website at www.sewfastseweasy.com.
7/15/10 6:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.