SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Paint brush for cleaning serger/bobbin race

Viewed 5160 times
Posted by: svetlana
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About svetlana star
IL USA
Member since: 12/30/06
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/6/10 7:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I have always been less than pleased with the wimpy plastic brush that comes with sewing machine or serger. One day I was dealing with lint in the serger and happened to come upon a sable paint brush left over from a craft project. The long handle made it perfect for reaching into the recesses of the serger and the lint immediately attached to the soft sable bristles. It is now my go to tool in between vacuuming.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SandiMacD said...
Thanks for reminding me of this. I am headed our storage right now so I don't forget to put it in my drawer!
7/7/10 0:12 AM
granny geek said...
I discovered this trick a long time ago. Isn't it a kick that we spend thousands of dollars on our machines and are given funky little plastic brushes to keep them clean...lol.
7/7/10 0:33 AM
tatica said...
need more information bout what you mean by "vacuuming".
7/7/10 7:41 AM
svetlana said...
Several years ago I got a set of attachments for my vacuum cleaner to use on the computer and sewing machines. I have a little Red Dirt Devil corded hand vacuum from a garage sale and they fit on it perfectly. That way I don't have to drag out my big upright. The set has some brushes and crevice tools. I don't remember where I got it but it was less than $15.
7/7/10 8:18 AM
Lookingpast said...
I've used small paint brushes in the past too but have had a problem with the bristles coming out. (Maybe the brushes I used were too cheap!) The brushes that come with new machines are too wimpy to really do a good job, I agree, but there still are some good sm brushes available.
7/7/10 3:42 PM
sewtime said...
Great tip, thanks!!
7/9/10 10:43 AM
Dinkalley said...
I use eye shadow brushes
12/28/10 6:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.