SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > 'Shop Your Stash' poster !

Viewed 5612 times
Posted by: DorrieBelle
photo

 
 
About DorrieBelle star
Member since: 9/3/03
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/9/03 6:33 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 11 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
I really liked the 'Shop Your Stash' challenge I read about here ! Even though a lot of mine is cut-up clothes or yard sale finds, I still have lots of remnants and yardages. When I saw the material, I was inspired - but by the time it was washed and stored, there was another piece of inspiration calling me !

So I got lots to use up. To encourage myself, I made up a 'Shop Your Stash' poster on my computer. It has a 'Shop' logo and the date I started the challenge (the day after I bought a half-yard bit of inspiration !). Then I left space to record my accomplishments - two already - listing what I made and with what from the stash ! It's hanging above my sewing machine, and I hope it'll keep me on track !

Since it's rare for me to go a week without buying at least a remnant, I'd love to be able to fill this poster up with accomplishments ! It might help you if you're taking up the challenge, too !

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


20 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lou. said...
I need this....I think it would scare me though!
9/10/03 8:03 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I've started keeping track of what I sew on an Excel spreadsheet, totalling the yards sewn from stash each month. So far this year, I've sewn 51 1/4 yards from stash. Unfortuantely, I think I've purchased close to that in the past 8 months, too...
9/10/03 8:24 AM
AnneM said...
Hmm, interesting idea. I recently made a list of all my (well, most of my) currently planned projects (where I already have both the fabric and the pattern). There were 30 of them - I'm down to 29 now!
9/10/03 2:44 PM
katharin said...
This is a great idea! In an attempt to seriously reduce my stash, I have forbidden myself to buy any fabrics. I will try your poster!
9/16/03 7:03 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love your idea! I shop my stash all the time. Convince your sewing self that you're moving. I'm moving & Lou is too--this has done wonders for my stash. Like losing weight ;) at first I knew something was different from the new clothes sewed from stash that starting slowly filling up my wardrobe. Just like when you're exercising and you know you're getting smaller but the eye does not. Now today I can finally, visibly see the difference in my stash! It's smaller! I'm steadfastly resisting buying more. Moving!
11/18/03 7:32 AM
sassylady said...
There is no hope for me ! The faster I sew the more fabric I buy!!! Don't want to run out!! HappySewing!!!
1/12/04 4:11 PM
J_J said...
I need to try something like this. My fabric stash is crowding my out of my sewing room and I just ordered more fabric. (I've discovered fabric coops). I sew mostly for me, my sister and my granddaughter, but I'm a sucker for buying new fabric for each project and not looking through my stash. Maybe something like this tip will help me change my ways. Thanks.
2/7/04 7:32 AM
lhstitcher said...
Great idea!! I need a better system than trying to keep it in my head! I don't buy fabric without a pattern in mind, but it has still grown too fast. I've started dabbling in quilts, some to sell, some to donate, and I buy that fabric at will--I definitely need to get a system going. Excel sounds like the way to go! Linda H.
2/18/04 2:56 PM
Diana M said...
I DO shop my stash -- but it seems like no matter what I've got hoarded, I need something else to go with whatever new project I've decided on, that's usually different from the original one I had in mind. Great idea, tho, to keep track of what I'm using up -- so I can show dh that I really do "use it up."
4/29/04 1:48 PM
Sewphie said...
we should all do this!
11/15/04 0:15 AM
QuickFade said...
I've started keeping a "giveaway box" in my sewing room. When I have a friend over and show off my room, I tell her that if she would like to sew with me some day, she can use anything in the box (fabric, patterns, trims, zippers), access any sewing books/magazines, use any equipment I have or she can bring, and trace any Burda WOF patterns she wants as long as she starts the project here. That way I can vicariously feel that the fabric that I've paid to cart all over the continent is finally getting used! And, of course, it makes me want to make up something at the same time. I have room for her to bring her machine and I have two ironing setups, so there is plenty of room for two to sew. I have extended this offer to young girls who want to start sewing as well, and to my elderly lady friends who find it amusing to do something like this. For my son, I let him choose a fabric and pattern and will make it up for him if he stays and helps with things like ironing. He inevitably asks if he can help with the stitching too, though I have to zip my lip about his hasty, crooked seams sometimes! To get a sewing room this large, I got rid of my king sized bed, which was ancient anyway, got a queen and put it and a dresser and table in the little bedroom I'd designated as my sewing room. This meant that I had a room for sleeping only and a room (the master suite) to spread out in for sewing. My large walkin closet is there, as is my full length mirror, and a bathroom. Plus, it's at the other end of the house so I don't disturb my son's sleep. And, if the door is open to the living room, I don't have to worry about whether I've made my bed or left clothes around. I just have an opportunity to show off what I've been making!
7/30/05 1:25 PM
10Ksteps said...
Clever idea--one I could use myself because I have more fabric than I will ever be able to use, so this would be a fun challenge to get the stash reduced.
10/3/05 11:44 PM
sewtea said...
would have love to see a pic, and more detail on how to make the poster for us computer not so savvy people. However, what a FABULOUS idea and very creative way to be inspired to make more room for fabric.
10/4/05 7:29 AM
mariellen said...
What a great idea! I have my fabrics stashed in 3 big storage containers broken down by 1. under 1 yd 2. over one yard and 3. squares, strips, homespuns and primitives but don't ask me what is in each container. LOL. I am definitely going to start your idea...I am sure it will make it easier for me. Thanks!
11/15/05 7:51 PM
kittycat420 said...
i love this idea!! did you print the poster anbd hang it up? glue swatches on each entry? how did you expand?
2/26/06 0:09 AM
U. Chicago said...
Here's an idea: Go through your pattern stash (yes, ALL of them!) and check the recommended fabrics. Cut swatches from any and all fabrics you have that are appropriate, and staple/clip them to the pattern envelope (or maybe put them together in a plastic storage bag). Then you can see how much of your stash you can use up. If a fabric is appropriate for more than one pattern just check how much yardage you have -- if there isn't enough to go around you decide which pattern you want for that fabric and choose another for the other pattern. It makes it really easy to see how much fabric you can use up, with the added advantage that if you have leftover fabric that needs a pattern, or patterns that need fabric, it gives you an excuse to go shopping again!
8/27/07 9:41 AM
waltzqueen said...
I'm so glad I'm not the only one with more projects than I have energy or time!
3/3/09 10:39 AM
OP Gal said...
Great idea. Sewing from your stash feels like the item is free, even though you paid for it some time in the past. I use an idea I found on PR. I keep a record using a form Deepika developed that has space for a small square of the fabric and details such as fiber content, yardage, cost, etc. I put the sheets in sheet protectors and keep them in a three ring binder indexed according to fabric content. That way I can flip through the book and pick a fabric to sew with.
12/12/09 9:14 AM
Lesley said...
Thankyou what a great idea, I also have a lot of lovely 'hand me downs' 'preloved' very beautiful items and I absolutely luv the fabrics but don't fit nor come close so I have kept lots to re-use/re-design to bring up to current styles n fit, because these days I dont have enough funds to buy new fabrics, but still keeps my stash building and building, without getting used, so I luv the idea of a list on the wall to 'remind' me :) - ta ever so, great idea.
5/27/12 5:48 PM
cookies8331 said...
Even though this is an older post.. it's an excellent idea that I need to pay attention to... lol
6/8/12 7:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.