SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Razor Blade Instead of Seam Ripper

Viewed 5699 times
Posted by: un|steady
photo

 
 
About un|steady star
CA USA
Member since: 6/20/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/12/10 2:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I hardly ever use my seam rippers anymore. Insteady I have a box of disposable razorblades that I use to take RTW apart (RTW=Ready to Wear or store bought clothing), rip open seams, slice off loose threads on finished garments etc.

What I usually do with a fresh blade is that I mark one corner of the blade with a dot or star with a Sharpie, and only use this end until it starts getting dull and then I just start using the other end of the razor blade. The blade cuts through seams like butter and can slip under topstitching without damaging the fabric.

I have found that using razor blades instead of seam rippers saves more than half the time as seam ripping.

BE CAREFUL! Razorblades may cut through stitching like butter, but they also cut skin easily. Also, dispose of your blades properly by folding long pieces of packing tape over and over it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
I've done this for years and agree totally.
7/12/10 4:00 PM
LizBa said...
Sounds cheaper than the fancy razor blade seam ripper I saw in Clothilde.
7/12/10 5:46 PM
Kirstenw said...
I remember that my mother used to do this. Thank you I had forgotten.
7/13/10 2:04 AM
Maripat said...
I've done it for years, too. I switched to an Exacto type knife since it gives me a longer gripping area. They're only a buck or two and you can get replaceable blades that snap off every half inch or so when the tip gets dull. Great tip.
7/13/10 6:59 AM
RLL said...
Yes, I too use what Maripat does with the snap off blade. I guess they are disposible box cutters. Bought mine a couple years ago from Home Depot for $.99. With the little snap off blades they last forever.
7/13/10 10:11 AM
SandyinMO said...
I'll third using the box cutter for seam ripper and also cutting buttonholes open. I use razor blades for several years, but the last pack I bought was cheap and they didn't stay sharp very long so started using the box cutter which is easier on my hands.
7/13/10 8:37 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Razor blades are used by tailors and this is a great/important tip for the brave at heart! I love the idea of marking the corner- brilliant and so simple...
7/22/10 9:54 AM
costumecarol said...
I keep a small box at work, taped shut but with a slot on top, labeled "used razor blades" At the bridal shop we had bright yellow sharps containers zip-tied to the leg of the machine stand for used blades and broken needles.
7/30/10 11:39 PM
need2sewmore said...
Sounds great. I'll try the box cutter.
8/6/10 10:48 AM
need2sewmore said...
Sounds great. I'll try the box cutter.
8/6/10 10:51 AM
sewinglady4u said...
I deposit my dull blades into a gatorade bottle. Safer than throwing them into the garbage can, and easier than wrapping them in something.
8/26/10 10:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.