SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Razor Blade Instead of Seam Ripper

Viewed 5927 times
Posted by: un|steady
photo

 
 
About un|steady star
CA USA
Member since: 6/20/06
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/12/10 2:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I hardly ever use my seam rippers anymore. Insteady I have a box of disposable razorblades that I use to take RTW apart (RTW=Ready to Wear or store bought clothing), rip open seams, slice off loose threads on finished garments etc.

What I usually do with a fresh blade is that I mark one corner of the blade with a dot or star with a Sharpie, and only use this end until it starts getting dull and then I just start using the other end of the razor blade. The blade cuts through seams like butter and can slip under topstitching without damaging the fabric.

I have found that using razor blades instead of seam rippers saves more than half the time as seam ripping.

BE CAREFUL! Razorblades may cut through stitching like butter, but they also cut skin easily. Also, dispose of your blades properly by folding long pieces of packing tape over and over it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewinglady4u said...
I deposit my dull blades into a gatorade bottle. Safer than throwing them into the garbage can, and easier than wrapping them in something.
8/26/10 10:20 PM
need2sewmore said...
Sounds great. I'll try the box cutter.
8/6/10 10:51 AM
need2sewmore said...
Sounds great. I'll try the box cutter.
8/6/10 10:48 AM
costumecarol said...
I keep a small box at work, taped shut but with a slot on top, labeled "used razor blades" At the bridal shop we had bright yellow sharps containers zip-tied to the leg of the machine stand for used blades and broken needles.
7/30/10 11:39 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Razor blades are used by tailors and this is a great/important tip for the brave at heart! I love the idea of marking the corner- brilliant and so simple...
7/22/10 9:54 AM
SandyinMO said...
I'll third using the box cutter for seam ripper and also cutting buttonholes open. I use razor blades for several years, but the last pack I bought was cheap and they didn't stay sharp very long so started using the box cutter which is easier on my hands.
7/13/10 8:37 PM
RLL said...
Yes, I too use what Maripat does with the snap off blade. I guess they are disposible box cutters. Bought mine a couple years ago from Home Depot for $.99. With the little snap off blades they last forever.
7/13/10 10:11 AM
Maripat said...
I've done it for years, too. I switched to an Exacto type knife since it gives me a longer gripping area. They're only a buck or two and you can get replaceable blades that snap off every half inch or so when the tip gets dull. Great tip.
7/13/10 6:59 AM
Kirstenw said...
I remember that my mother used to do this. Thank you I had forgotten.
7/13/10 2:04 AM
LizBa said...
Sounds cheaper than the fancy razor blade seam ripper I saw in Clothilde.
7/12/10 5:46 PM
Rhoda K said...
I've done this for years and agree totally.
7/12/10 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.