SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > tissue fitting by yourself

Viewed 5507 times
Posted by: marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marec starstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/15/10 6:16 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Do you have as much trouble as I do when trying to tissue fit without a dress form? Or worse, without a helper? I am making a buttons in the back blouse and could not get the tissue to stay centered in order to check placement. My solution was to pin the tissue to a cami and then carefully put on the cami in order to check fit. Not a perfect solution but helpful when you are fitting alone.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Merry G said...
Great idea...how did you keep the tissue from tearing?
7/15/10 6:44 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great idea! I really like it and will pas that along to my students. I know it is very difficult to tissue fit the back. I do a good job on the front but always call for someone's aid for the back side.
7/15/10 8:17 PM
marec said...
Merry G, I used scotch tape on all the curves and then snipped the tissue up to the scotch tape (as if it were fabric).
7/15/10 10:11 PM
Lynngray said...
Thanks for the tip
7/16/10 1:29 AM
Lynngray said...

7/16/10 1:29 AM
julie w said...
I love this tip! Thanki you
7/16/10 3:27 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
What a great idea!
7/16/10 7:22 AM
Maripat said...
Excellent!
7/16/10 8:12 AM
pauladaniel said...
That is a SMART tip! - Thanks
7/16/10 8:48 AM
quathy said...
Wish I'd thought of that years ago! I have made a PTD, which does help, but before that I used to to tape the tissue to shoulder points, etc. Not easy to do!
7/16/10 2:08 PM
waltzqueen said...
Wonderful idea! My husband hates to help me. If you cut the cami down the front and added some hooks and eyes to close it up edge to edge, I think that would make it easier to put one, right?
7/16/10 3:17 PM
Bunny7 said...
great idea. thanks
7/17/10 7:19 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great idea! Thanks! Also like Waltzqueen's suggestion to cut the cami and use hook and eyes in the front - no problem tearing, or pin sticking, when pulling on over my head! Thank you both!
7/17/10 10:38 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Thank you for this great tip!
7/18/10 2:02 AM
JasminC said...
a t-shirt works well too, especially for things with collars and such...
8/12/10 5:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.