SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > tissue fitting by yourself

Viewed 5638 times
Posted by: marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marec starstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 77 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/15/10 6:16 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Do you have as much trouble as I do when trying to tissue fit without a dress form? Or worse, without a helper? I am making a buttons in the back blouse and could not get the tissue to stay centered in order to check placement. My solution was to pin the tissue to a cami and then carefully put on the cami in order to check fit. Not a perfect solution but helpful when you are fitting alone.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JasminC said...
a t-shirt works well too, especially for things with collars and such...
8/12/10 5:57 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
Thank you for this great tip!
7/18/10 2:02 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great idea! Thanks! Also like Waltzqueen's suggestion to cut the cami and use hook and eyes in the front - no problem tearing, or pin sticking, when pulling on over my head! Thank you both!
7/17/10 10:38 PM
Bunny7 said...
great idea. thanks
7/17/10 7:19 PM
waltzqueen said...
Wonderful idea! My husband hates to help me. If you cut the cami down the front and added some hooks and eyes to close it up edge to edge, I think that would make it easier to put one, right?
7/16/10 3:17 PM
quathy said...
Wish I'd thought of that years ago! I have made a PTD, which does help, but before that I used to to tape the tissue to shoulder points, etc. Not easy to do!
7/16/10 2:08 PM
pauladaniel said...
That is a SMART tip! - Thanks
7/16/10 8:48 AM
Maripat said...
Excellent!
7/16/10 8:12 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
What a great idea!
7/16/10 7:22 AM
julie w said...
I love this tip! Thanki you
7/16/10 3:27 AM
Lynngray said...

7/16/10 1:29 AM
Lynngray said...
Thanks for the tip
7/16/10 1:29 AM
marec said...
Merry G, I used scotch tape on all the curves and then snipped the tissue up to the scotch tape (as if it were fabric).
7/15/10 10:11 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great idea! I really like it and will pas that along to my students. I know it is very difficult to tissue fit the back. I do a good job on the front but always call for someone's aid for the back side.
7/15/10 8:17 PM
Merry G said...
Great idea...how did you keep the tissue from tearing?
7/15/10 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.