SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pattern Storage.....another suggestion

Viewed 5244 times
Posted by: Lou.
photo

 
 
About Lou. starstarstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/10/03 8:10 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I was talking to a friend that workd in a printers and she has given me a great idea.

She suggested I get all my pattern envelopes scanned and printed. This would give me my own master copies, then laminate the master copies, and have them bound in books, almost catalogues of all your patterns, and if you happen to lose one, or it gets damaged you ahve a CD full of the master scans.
And of course the original enveloped never get worn.
Of course the initial layout for something like this would be $$ but after the initial set up you could do them everytime you buy a new one.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
thaiyal said...
If you dont have a scanner or access to a photocopier, goto the website where the front and back cover of the pattern are posted as images. Print those for your reference and keep the original package in the plastic sleeves.
6/6/06 5:26 PM
craftyrose said...
I also use the same method that Katherine does by using the 3 ring binder. Since I also sew alot of doll clothes for my grand-daughter, I keep a separate binder for doll clothes. It has really helped to avoid make duplicate purchases of the same pattern.
3/17/04 1:53 PM
katlady said...
I do as Katherine does and photocopy the front and the back, arranging the photocopies in three ring binders in somewhat the same format as the pattern companies; Evening Wear, Pants, Tops, and so on. Then I file the patterns by number.
9/28/03 10:34 PM
ncegbu said...
I do the same thing as Katharine, but I've upgraded to scanning in the pattern envelopes and printing copies for my binder. My techie boyfriend thinks I should make a database incorporating the scanned pictures and sewing notes and ideas. I no longer buy duplicate patterns or extra fabric (unless I want to!).
9/27/03 3:03 PM
R_D_Bross said...
this is a great Idea for me I'm going to use it for all my pattern that I have
9/17/03 11:25 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Sewserious, what a great suggestion! I do something like that in a low-tech way. I photocopy front/back of every pattern and put that in a sleeve protector. Add the sleeves and paper to a (3)-ring binder (here in NL it's more than 3 rings!) then you have my sewing notebook. I write down all my ideas on paper and bring the noteook to every fabric store. Saves A LOT by preventing me from buying extra fabric.
9/16/03 3:17 PM
sewserious1 said...
Acutally, if you have a scanner and a CD burner, you can do this at home and then just have the laminating done. Better yet, just use plastic sleeve protectors and place in a 3-ring binder. Easier to add future purchases that way.
9/11/03 6:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.