SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Sew Calmly, Not Fast

Viewed 5234 times
Posted by: monijo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About monijo star
NIGERIA
Member since: 7/5/08
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/17/10 6:55 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 28 people   
Beginning sewers should not try to be the first out of the gate. Think and sew one unit at a time. Sew at a reasonable pace and at times that are convenient. Things will get done when they get done. Life goes on. Sewing at break neck speed allows the stress of the outside world to infringe upon an activity that should be a pleasant experience. Stay far from the maddening crowd. Don’t rent any of your sewing space to them.

When you allow yourself to sew calmly, that is when you will come to understand sewing better. When you understand sewing better, you will be able to sew accurately and efficiently. Indeed, this is how to become a “fast sewer”, fast for those times when you will need to keep your eye on the clock. But those times should be far and few between. Sewing should be enjoyable.

Sewing calmly over the years has given me the quiet time to think about how to bring up a retarded child and a second child born with a disability (unable to fully use the left arm). The first is well taken care of in the United States. The second entered the university at the age of 16 years.

Through sewing, I have been given the needed space to think things through along with self-pride in working with my hands. I thank God.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
iluv2sew61 said...
Good advise for sewers of all skill levels to keep in mind.
7/17/10 9:54 AM
ryansmumAria said...
This is excellent advice and so beautifully explained!
7/17/10 12:25 PM
Charrlie said...
Yes, indeed, wonderful!
7/18/10 0:42 AM
paulakiss said...
Thank you so much sweetie for posting this advice! I have recently learned to go slower and found that I sew a better quality project that way. I set monthly goals, but don't pressure myself. I've found more enjoyment in sewing and now I make time to do more of it! Congrats on your child going to university so early! And I'm glad your other child is in good hands here in the US. Take care!
7/18/10 1:30 AM
collarsncuffs said...
This reflection resonates for Me. When I get anxious and eager to finish a project I want to do everything at once and I can hardly sleep at night trying to plan my project. Almost as if i were addicted to my project. I really will take your thoughts to heart. Thank you.
7/18/10 8:13 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Great advice, not just for sewing but for most things we do.
7/18/10 10:45 AM
sewknitful said...
Great advice for most things in life! Thanks for the reminder.
7/18/10 11:28 AM
Lizz said...
Well said! I agree completely. This is my philosophy for Life.
7/18/10 12:48 PM
patma said...
God bless you!
7/18/10 1:49 PM
Susannah said...
Just reading your tip is very calming and peaceful. Thanks for sharing your wisdom.
7/18/10 2:54 PM
abbe said...
Such wise words...thanks for sharing them. I'm a quilter...and you're right....nothing seems to work when it's a rush job.
7/18/10 7:48 PM
ImListening said...
Thank you! What a novel idea and just the idea I needed.
7/19/10 4:42 PM
CaliS said...
I read this the day you posted, and have been thinking about it ever since. Thank you for a thoughtful and thought-provoking post. I have arrived at most of my important realizations while in a meditative state. That can't be rushed, or achieved easily with an excited mind. I am reminded how everything, including sewing, deserves calmness and thought.
7/19/10 9:46 PM
heltonart said...
I find this to be true for me also. I make many mistakes when I try to hurry my progress. Also if my mind wanders too much. Sewing should be very peaceful, and if it's not, there's usually something I have to tend to that I haven't!
7/26/10 4:37 PM
eleanor6666 said...
I agree.
8/9/10 8:09 PM
SewDoIt said...
Wonderful words that affect calm by reading. Thank you!
8/22/10 11:49 AM
pammieh said...
I need to keep reminding myself on this - great post.
10/14/10 2:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.