Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
using your cell/camera for buying patterns (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5135 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/21/10 9:29 PM
Normally, I use my "notes" on my iphone when I go through the pattern books at Joann's but I dread having to punch in those numbers when I find a pattern I want to buy.

It occurred to me today to take pictures of the patten numbers I wanted. It was SO much easier. As I got each pattern, I simply deleted it and the patterns that I was not able to get in my size are in my photo album for the next time I'm at a Joann's.

Why did it take so long to figure this one out!

Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
I think you are absolutely brilliant!
7/22/10 0:35 AM
paulakiss said...
Fantastic Idea!
7/22/10 1:19 AM
ghijsmom said...
What a great idea. Now, if only I could remember from one day to the next how to operate the camera on my cell phone.
7/22/10 2:32 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I just had a thought about organization. I have been wanting to catalog my pattern collection and was going to photoscan the fronts and put them in a book. I could photo the fronts and back and put them on a CD. I have some patterns that I have bought 3 times because I couldn't remember if I had it or not. I guess I really liked the style if I bought it 3 times over. :>))
7/22/10 7:51 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I just had a thought about organization. I have been wanting to catalog my pattern collection and was going to photoscan the fronts and put them in a book. I could photo the fronts and back and put them on a CD. I have some patterns that I have bought 3 times because I couldn't remember if I had it or not. I guess I really liked the style if I bought it 3 times over. :>))
7/22/10 7:52 AM
Baychel3 said...
Wow, you are a GENIUS!! Never ever thought of doing that, and I carry my cell phone w/me ALL the time! Thank you so much for being so talented, and sharing your idea!!
7/22/10 9:20 AM
Marcia R said...
Thanks for the tip, great idea You also recommended a source for an armsyce ruler, can you give that again?
7/22/10 10:34 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Marcia here is the addy http://sewwithsarah.com/Spanish/htm/measur.htm You can go to notion reviews for more info- style #
7/22/10 11:28 AM
Maripat said...
Great idea, Aria. There's also an app (and desktop and web version) of Evernote. you can save everything into EN, including photos, and it syncs across all of your devices. You could have a "patterns" notebook and add tags for size, style, family member, etc. It recognizes text, either written or typed, so each pattern is searchable. I use it for everything. http://www.evernote.com/about/learn_more/
7/22/10 8:27 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Maripat, Thank you for this great info. I was thinking how I wish I could have notebooks like OneNOte. I am going to get it thanks again!
7/22/10 10:01 PM
quathy said...
this is also great for jotting down phone numbers. from the phone book, store front signs, etc... and 'remembering' where you parked.
7/23/10 1:53 AM
ryansmumAria said...
omg! Evernote is fabulous! Thank you so much ...
7/23/10 11:27 AM
heltonart said...
That is a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing!
7/26/10 4:33 PM
Sistah said...
Thanks for the idea. Sometime it's the simplest think and it just doen's register. I will use my cell-phone camera in the future.
9/4/10 9:00 AM
ginian said...
I feel so much better now - somebody else bought the same pattern 3 times. Great idea, I'm going to try it.
9/11/10 5:21 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us