SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > using your cell/camera for buying patterns

Viewed 5201 times
Posted by: ryansmumAria
photo

 
 
About ryansmumAria starstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/29/05
Reviews written: 135
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
tips added: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/21/10 9:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Normally, I use my "notes" on my iphone when I go through the pattern books at Joann's but I dread having to punch in those numbers when I find a pattern I want to buy.

It occurred to me today to take pictures of the patten numbers I wanted. It was SO much easier. As I got each pattern, I simply deleted it and the patterns that I was not able to get in my size are in my photo album for the next time I'm at a Joann's.

Why did it take so long to figure this one out!


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ChristmasHills said...
I think you are absolutely brilliant!
7/22/10 0:35 AM
paulakiss said...
Fantastic Idea!
7/22/10 1:19 AM
ghijsmom said...
What a great idea. Now, if only I could remember from one day to the next how to operate the camera on my cell phone.
7/22/10 2:32 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I just had a thought about organization. I have been wanting to catalog my pattern collection and was going to photoscan the fronts and put them in a book. I could photo the fronts and back and put them on a CD. I have some patterns that I have bought 3 times because I couldn't remember if I had it or not. I guess I really liked the style if I bought it 3 times over. :>))
7/22/10 7:51 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I just had a thought about organization. I have been wanting to catalog my pattern collection and was going to photoscan the fronts and put them in a book. I could photo the fronts and back and put them on a CD. I have some patterns that I have bought 3 times because I couldn't remember if I had it or not. I guess I really liked the style if I bought it 3 times over. :>))
7/22/10 7:52 AM
Baychel3 said...
Wow, you are a GENIUS!! Never ever thought of doing that, and I carry my cell phone w/me ALL the time! Thank you so much for being so talented, and sharing your idea!!
7/22/10 9:20 AM
Marcia R said...
Thanks for the tip, great idea You also recommended a source for an armsyce ruler, can you give that again?
7/22/10 10:34 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Marcia here is the addy http://sewwithsarah.com/Spanish/htm/measur.htm You can go to notion reviews for more info- style #
7/22/10 11:28 AM
Maripat said...
Great idea, Aria. There's also an app (and desktop and web version) of Evernote. you can save everything into EN, including photos, and it syncs across all of your devices. You could have a "patterns" notebook and add tags for size, style, family member, etc. It recognizes text, either written or typed, so each pattern is searchable. I use it for everything. http://www.evernote.com/about/learn_more/
7/22/10 8:27 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Maripat, Thank you for this great info. I was thinking how I wish I could have notebooks like OneNOte. I am going to get it thanks again!
7/22/10 10:01 PM
quathy said...
this is also great for jotting down phone numbers. from the phone book, store front signs, etc... and 'remembering' where you parked.
7/23/10 1:53 AM
ryansmumAria said...
omg! Evernote is fabulous! Thank you so much ...
7/23/10 11:27 AM
heltonart said...
That is a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing!
7/26/10 4:33 PM
Sistah said...
Thanks for the idea. Sometime it's the simplest think and it just doen's register. I will use my cell-phone camera in the future.
9/4/10 9:00 AM
ginian said...
I feel so much better now - somebody else bought the same pattern 3 times. Great idea, I'm going to try it.
9/11/10 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.