SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Welt Pockets

Viewed 5637 times
Posted by: GorgeousFabrics
photo

 
 
About GorgeousFabrics starstarstarstar
Member since: 8/12/02
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 254 people
tips added: 23
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/10/03 8:11 PM
Last Updated: 5/30/14 9:45 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 24 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Maecenas eu mattis mi, id elementum arcu. Sed malesuada in dolor at adipiscing. Donec dignissim ipsum sed magna tincidunt, in dignissim diam semper. Nam eget egestas metus. Integer lobortis et justo non laoreet. Praesent ultrices leo vitae dui faucibus varius. Nunc feugiat hendrerit ultrices. Cras turpis ligula, sollicitudin ac lobortis sit amet, volutpat sed purus. Aenean arcu ante, accumsan ut mauris id, pulvinar egestas ante. Sed in lobortis massa, at consequat mi. Donec ac varius nisi. Pellentesque placerat dapibus metus vel sagittis.

Ut ultrices tortor vel diam vehicula, sit amet lacinia risus porttitor. Aliquam vel condimentum nisl, at dignissim nunc. Vivamus in purus a dui venenatis rutrum non sit amet ipsum. Nulla facilisi. Vivamus vitae semper quam, quis ornare enim. Donec egestas diam sapien, sit amet fringilla nisi vehicula et. Vestibulum convallis porttitor magna, quis accumsan nunc congue eget. Nulla facilisi. Mauris et metus at est auctor fermentum id vitae neque. Morbi accumsan fermentum metus vel iaculis.

Pellentesque eros purus, aliquam ultrices elementum ut, faucibus ut lacus. Fusce eu mattis dolor, eget suscipit ante. Sed elementum nec diam sit amet porta. Aliquam erat volutpat. Vestibulum imperdiet, lorem ut tristique imperdiet, nulla mauris sodales justo, ut tincidunt metus sem in ante. Nullam dui lacus, cursus at fermentum ut, adipiscing id eros. Nunc sollicitudin dolor vulputate, suscipit turpis pulvinar, hendrerit tellus. Aenean tempus, ligula id auctor porttitor, neque erat consectetur nulla, vel luctus quam neque in enim. Nunc faucibus justo sed eros auctor molestie. Etiam porttitor sollicitudin massa, et accumsan ante ultrices vel. Vestibulum tempus felis risus, ut viverra erat consequat vel. Cras pulvinar vehicula purus, nec aliquam lectus luctus a. Nam euismod massa eu nunc pharetra tincidunt. Etiam leo nisi, sodales quis varius eu, placerat at sem. Sed pharetra arcu eget dolor bibendum, ut interdum enim mattis.

Etiam sodales dictum libero, non rutrum tellus facilisis ut. Etiam ullamcorper urna condimentum sapien vestibulum, vel vehicula magna interdum. Phasellus vestibulum ipsum eu ultricies luctus. In id varius ante. Aenean sit amet molestie sapien, id lacinia dui. Duis in sodales elit, a ullamcorper ante. Suspendisse pharetra fringilla felis, ut condimentum urna pharetra vitae. Etiam iaculis dolor nec nunc lacinia, ac pulvinar massa euismod. Phasellus varius mi sit amet nulla viverra congue. Nunc non porttitor nunc, a suscipit lorem. Ut eu lacinia leo.

Phasellus eleifend in metus vel vehicula. Sed mauris massa, gravida id quam ac, rhoncus egestas lectus. Maecenas et aliquet tellus, sit amet pretium risus. Praesent viverra bibendum magna, ut placerat lacus condimentum quis. Ut in mauris eu purus ornare dictum sed eu massa. Cras interdum sit amet libero id porta. Class aptent taciti sociosqu ad litora torquent per conubia nostra, per inceptos himenaeos. Sed eleifend posuere convallis. Integer rutrum in lacus ut scelerisque. Nunc pellentesque dui sed tempor suscipit. Mauris odio odio, fermentum quis sem aliquam, eleifend tincidunt ligula. Aliquam erat volutpat. Phasellus faucibus rutrum odio, pulvinar lobortis mauris vulputate at.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kathi s said...
Hi, GS Great info- I am a little lost at Step 7. How do you handle the welt strips on the wrong side? I think that I need to try this out to completely understand it. My sewing skills are very rusty after a very long hiatus. Love your jacket! I have a piece of wool boucle which came from my mom's stash (she bought it in about 1959!) which is also royal blue and black, but not plaid. I might try a suit- I have about 5 yards. Thanks!
9/10/03 10:30 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thank you so much Ann, for taking the time to do this for all of us. I am really looking forward to trying this method on a boucle I have had in my stash for about 5 years. Your jacket is beautiful on you.
9/11/03 8:28 AM
iblondie said...
I'm taking a tailoring class at our local Jr college. When I used this technique on my pockets I got a "beautiful!" comment from the teacher! and she's really a taskmaster. Thank you!
9/28/03 10:52 AM
woody said...
Ann, I'll try this next jacket I make does it matter what colour organza is used or is the trick to be precise whith the stitching?
10/12/03 1:11 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Ann, I use this method, too, for welt pockets and for bound buttonholes. The only difference in our methods is in Step 6. I stack the prepared welt strips on top of each other, right sides together, and baste them together, stitching exactly down the center of the strips, parallel to the long edges. Then I fold the strips away from each other and press them. You now have 2 welt strips that meet each other exactly. I put strips of Steam-a-Seam along the long edges of the organza, close to the "window", center the welt strip unit in place and iron the basted welt strips in place before I stitch them. Once they are stitched in place, you can remove the basting so the pocket can open. Other than that, same method.
10/13/03 7:13 AM
woody said...
Ann I am just about to start another jacket for my self and will definetly try your method, before I start will you confirm to me if another fabric can be used for the backing other than organza or is this one of those vital ingredients that make it work?
10/23/03 8:31 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Woody, organza is what I use for a couple of reasons: it's very strong, so when you pull it through it won't tear. It's also very lightweight so it won't add any bulk to your garment. It's also available in many colors, so you can use one that will blend very easily with your garment fabric. Finally, it's not that expensive. if you buy 1/2 yard, you'll get a lot of welts out of that piece of organza. I hope this helps! -Ann
10/24/03 6:40 AM
woody said...
Ann, tried your tip for welt pockets this afternoon, brilliant it must be the easiest welt pocket I have ever done
10/26/03 1:44 PM
Andy Druian said...
Thank you for your info re the welt pockets - I will certainly try this method next - it sounds real good and hope its successfull - I will use this method for bound buttonholes too! Thanks!
3/16/04 4:31 AM
elka78k said...
I do welt pockets differently - I cut the opening only AFTER attaching the welt strips, makes it easier to handle those sharp corners.
2/22/05 6:26 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for such a detailed coverage of welt pockets. I haven't tried them yet, but am saving this info for when the time comes!
7/3/05 6:29 PM
99 said...
This was a very outstanding review of how to make a welt pocket.
4/6/06 3:27 PM
johojo said...
Her clearly explained tip helps resolve several puzzles posed by the scant instructions of a vest pattern this beginner is attempting to sew.
3/15/09 1:14 AM
aripper said...
I think it is helpful but if it had step by step pictures it would make it much easier to understand.
5/26/11 4:26 PM
maypearl said...
Excellent technique! This is way easier than my usual method.
6/26/11 10:55 PM
slmstyle said...
Hi Ann! I know it's been almost 10 years since you wrote this, but I figured the technique is classic and still works and I'd still post a comment. First of all, thanks for your great tutorial on making a welt pocket. I plan to add this to the back of Butterick 5682 trouser jean pattern. Questions for you: On step 6, when you center the welt strip over the opening and baste, this is basting on the wrong side, correct? How far away from the edges do you baste, and I'll assume the raw edges of the strip are away from the welt opening. Step 7, when you open out the welt opening and sew through all the thicknesses, this is a little confusing. It would be great to have photos to go along with each step. I'll give it a try on scraps anyway before I add it to the back of my jeans. Thanks! -Stephanie
4/3/12 1:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.