SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > source for Vilene bias tape

Viewed 5439 times
Posted by: Steph A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Steph A star
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/23/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/29/10 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
The description of Vilene bias tape on the following website is:
"An Iron-on Bias cut tape with a run of chain stitches, can be used for strengthening neck and armhole edges and to prevent fabric from stretching."

------
While searching for sources of this elusive Vilene bias tape, I ran across a sewists blog that mentioned how she had found some. I was as pleased as punch!

This website is in the UK:
www.sewessential.co.uk

It's sold as GBP 0.45/m

I ordered 15 meters on a Wednesday, it shipped the same day, and arrived in my mailbox the following Thursday (8 days).
My shipping costs were GBP 5.00 (the international rate).
With the exchange rate as of July 2010, I paid CD $19.25 ...maybe a bit excessive for some, but I don't have much time to figure out alternatives.

There is, however, a very good tip about making your own alternative.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


4 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
pauladaniel said...
Thanks - Please tell us what you plan not use the tape for? I would love to learn more.
7/30/10 8:18 AM
Steph A said...
Sorry about that! Many patterns in the Burda Style magazine (or BWOF) suggest using this notion to reinforce curved edges, like armholes and necklines, on knit fabrics. It is a fusible tape and is easy to apply on curves because it is cut on the bias. When applied, the edge is not elastic, but quite firm; however, it is not bulky. Top-stitching this edge goes very smoothly. I just used it to make BWOF 05-2010-105...review to follow very soon.
7/31/10 8:30 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I've used SewEssential TONS of times (they're my go-to habby store) and I have never had a single problem. I've ordered both the white and charcoal vilene bias tape from them several times and I seriously can't live without the stuff now!
8/3/10 7:54 AM
Darlette said...
Thanks to your review, I just placed an order for 16 meters of the Vilene bias tape. As of December 2010, paid USD $ 19.96. Purchased 8 yards each of the white and charcoal colors... @ $0.81/meter. Delivery to Florida in the States was $7. This is why I love the sewing community at PatternReview!
12/30/10 3:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.