SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Tips & Techniques > source for Vilene bias tape

Viewed 5736 times
Posted by: Steph A
Friend of PR

About Steph A star
Member since: 4/23/09
Reviews: 17 (tips: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/29/10 2:44 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
The description of Vilene bias tape on the following website is:
"An Iron-on Bias cut tape with a run of chain stitches, can be used for strengthening neck and armhole edges and to prevent fabric from stretching."

While searching for sources of this elusive Vilene bias tape, I ran across a sewists blog that mentioned how she had found some. I was as pleased as punch!

This website is in the UK:

It's sold as GBP 0.45/m

I ordered 15 meters on a Wednesday, it shipped the same day, and arrived in my mailbox the following Thursday (8 days).
My shipping costs were GBP 5.00 (the international rate).
With the exchange rate as of July 2010, I paid CD $19.25 ...maybe a bit excessive for some, but I don't have much time to figure out alternatives.

There is, however, a very good tip about making your own alternative.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques

Login to Add a Comment    
Darlette said... (12/30/10 3:03 PM) Reply
Thanks to your review, I just placed an order for 16 meters of the Vilene bias tape. As of December 2010, paid USD $ 19.96. Purchased 8 yards each of the white and charcoal colors... @ $0.81/meter. Delivery to Florida in the States was $7. This is why I love the sewing community at PatternReview!
squirrellypoo said... (8/3/10 7:54 AM) Reply
I've used SewEssential TONS of times (they're my go-to habby store) and I have never had a single problem. I've ordered both the white and charcoal vilene bias tape from them several times and I seriously can't live without the stuff now!
Steph A said... (7/31/10 8:30 PM) Reply
Sorry about that! Many patterns in the Burda Style magazine (or BWOF) suggest using this notion to reinforce curved edges, like armholes and necklines, on knit fabrics. It is a fusible tape and is easy to apply on curves because it is cut on the bias. When applied, the edge is not elastic, but quite firm; however, it is not bulky. Top-stitching this edge goes very smoothly. I just used it to make BWOF to follow very soon.
pauladaniel said... (7/30/10 8:18 AM) Reply
Thanks - Please tell us what you plan not use the tape for? I would love to learn more.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.