SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Sewing around zipper pull

Viewed 5439 times
Posted by: newmama
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About newmama star
SC USA
Member since: 6/28/09
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/1/10 3:00 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
This is so simple I hope I don't offend anyone by posting it.

If you're having trouble sewing close enough to the zipper pull, move it down a few inches so it's out of your way. Sew until you get near the zipper pull, stopping with your needle in the fabric. Lift your presser foot then slide the zipper pull back up to the top. It helps to stop before you get too close to the pull. Now lower your presser foot and finish sewing and it won't be in the way! This is kind of a no-brainer, and won't work in all situations (sometimes it's just too hard to maneuver the pull), but I tend to overlook the simple solutions sometimes.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
anika said...
Thank you for posting this. I just put in my first zipper last night and ran into this very problem. I did wonder about moving the pull out of the way but wasn't able to maneuver it. At any rate, I'm glad to know I was thinking in the right direction!
8/2/10 7:41 AM
nancy2001 said...
Great tip -- it's the way I handle zipper pulls. By the way, if you rotate the garment with the presser foot up and the needle down, you will be able to maneuver the pull in just about any situation.
8/2/10 9:35 AM
vasallese said...
Sometimes the we need reminding of the simplest solutions. Thanks.
8/4/10 9:47 AM
monijo said...
I hope to be home for Christmas and need secure pockets for travel. I added zippered pockets to several items of clothing (Travel Gear and Gifts to Make, Mary Mulari.com) using this technique. In no way is this a brainless idea. It is very nice of you to point this out.
8/6/10 11:51 AM
M.S. said...
It took me years to figure that one out! I bet you caught on a lot faster than I did, and thanks to your post, others will know it, too.
9/9/10 12:54 PM
Hilary said...
This works wonderfully~this is how I get a nice straight seam around zippers, too! Well most of the time anyway :p
9/17/10 5:54 PM
cstarks said...
It does seem like that would go without saying, but just today I struggled to stitch a straight line next to my zipper pull. Thanks for pointing this out!
10/29/10 9:45 PM
Adaire said...
I wish more people would add tips like this. I learned this one in a class 40 years ago but there are so many brand new sewists starting out now and so often what seems obvious to us is not to them.
8/10/13 5:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.