SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > BLUE PAINTERS TAPE - A NEW USE!

Viewed 5498 times
Posted by: sewnsheen
photo

 
 
About sewnsheen
NC USA
Member since: 11/29/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/9/10 11:57 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 27 people   
Marking the matching notches for pants that need edge finish (e.g., overlock or serging the edge) before sewing the seams. My "disappearing pen" ink didn't disappear on the test scrap, so I was in a bind.

I tried using some blue painter's tape and cut triangles from the edges, then placed the triangles inside the seam allowance, so that my serger wouldn't cut them off before I needed to see where they lined up. I placed the '"point" of each triangle to correspond with the point of the notch.
The tape remained in place during the overlock step. Joining the front and back seams was easy, and the tape pulled right off, and did not leave any marks or color.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SandiMacD said...
I am new to making boys pants and this tip is a great problem solver. Much easier on my aging eyes than trying to see a marker line.
8/10/10 0:54 AM
Maripat said...
Love that!
8/10/10 6:44 AM
KathySews said...
great idea - I have a roll in my sewing room
8/10/10 8:34 AM
Susannah said...
Thanks! I will purchase a roll and try this.
8/10/10 9:14 AM
Patti B said...
More uses for this wonderful stuff! Thanks.
8/10/10 9:57 AM
Bunny7 said...
Great idea. Thanks for the tip. You should send it in to Threads.
8/10/10 11:11 AM
Barbara3 said...
Another great use of this tape!
8/10/10 2:31 PM
quathy said...
Great idea! I always forget about notch marks when I serge - this will help a lot!
8/10/10 6:39 PM
ryansmumAria said...
ooh, i like this! thank you
8/10/10 11:43 PM
MarianS said...
Way cool!
8/11/10 2:29 PM
eileen said...
Great idea - I never thought of doing that.
8/11/10 3:21 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Best tip of the year! I have a roll of lime-green light-tack tape I use for all sorts of sewing things.. but never thought of this use. Thanks! to return your favor, I use a strip of my green tape stuck on my machine heads as a place to note what size needle is in use since I can't remember stuff so well at times.... I hate it when i serge over my careful s.a. snips and my marks are gone... thank you for an excellent solution.
8/12/10 7:40 PM
Jane Jane said...
Did your serger cut off the points of the tape and if so, did it mess up the serged edge? Jane
8/13/10 2:06 AM
missmarple said...
I've seen this tip somewhere before, but thanks - I don't have to go looking for it again. It does work very well.
8/16/10 4:23 PM
missmarple said...
I've seen this tip somewhere before, but thanks - I don't have to go looking for it again. It does work very well.
8/16/10 4:24 PM
RockNRoll said...
This is brilliant!!!!! Thank you so much for this! You can also use this for your sewing machine sewing. You can mark the tape too for tips LOL make notes :) I am going to try this next project
8/26/10 11:30 PM
ctirish said...
I am going to try this one with my next project.
9/18/11 11:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.