SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > 3 step zig zag

Viewed 5585 times
Posted by: MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarb starstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
tips added: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/7/10 7:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Since I don't have a serger I've been practicing with different overcasting options on my Bernina 930. Most of the recommended stitches cause tunneling on softer fabrics. I used the 3-step zig zag as recommended by a Kwik Sew pattern I was making. It works great. The garment has been laundered and the edges held up well.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Barbara3 said...
Great tip - and something I hadn't thought about before. Thanks for sharing it.
9/7/10 5:41 PM
Maripat said...
Hey, I do this too on my 930! I do use a serger, but when I'm altering a small area and I want a good thread match, I use this stitch. It is also my go-to stitch for mending. I use it almost daily in my alterations.
9/8/10 7:59 AM
kws said...
Very good tip, thanks
9/16/10 9:42 PM
Hilary said...
AAH! This is *just * the tip I needed-I am getting ready to make a shirt for DH with a KS (quarter inch seams) pattern and was trying to find the best method for finishing the tiny seams in a cotton woven fabric. Thank you so much! And I hope my Bernina 530 has this stitch, lol.
10/26/10 11:22 AM
Leda2 said...
Could you explain what a 3 step zig zag is?
10/28/10 4:08 PM
MNBarb said...
I added a photo. Sorry, I hate it when I read a tip and don't understand what is being described. Thanks for asking. I'm not sure if every sewing machine has this stitch.
10/29/10 7:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.