SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Class Reviews > Louise Cutting Oh2Sew Intensive Sewing Workshop

Viewed 6504 times
Posted by: craftinginmycave2
Friend of PR

About craftinginmycave2 star
Member since: 11/23/09
Reviews: 12 (classes: 2)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/9/10 2:06 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I learned A LOT from this class. From altering to technique shortcuts. Louise Cutting and her assistant, Sandy Miller, were very patient in explaining each technique -- 17 in total, plus additional lecture information from Louise.

Several of the techniques were exemplified in samples made from Louise's patterns. I liked seeing the examples in a finished garment, but I also felt it was pushing her patterns, which although understandable, turned me slightly off because her patterns are made for resort wear and for women who wear elastic pants and shoulder pads.

Louise's personality is a hoot! I can definitely see why people would follow her, but it was also a bit groupie-ish the way some folks seemed to already know what patterns she was going to mention, etc.

The class size of 25 was too many. If you ran into trouble understanding the technique, you were on your own or had to look at someone else's sample to figure it out. This is partly because only Sandy demonstrated and checked the samples for most of the time. For whatever reason, Louise would leave the room...although, I also suspect because there was one person in my class who was supposedly a professional and, yet, took most of Louise's time to talk about who knows what. The person even 'cut' in front of me to talk to Louise when it was my turn for the pants fitting. Sounds like a playground whine, but when it happens consistently over a 3-day workshop, it was irritating.

I think there could have been more organization in the class and setting groundrules, such as:
-- Cell phones off, a few ladies didn't even bother leaving the room
-- Schedule periodic break. I had to hold my bladder several times to figure out if I was going to miss something important.
-- Schedule the hard exercises in the morning, not the late afternoon when brain power and blood sugar are low
-- Re-organize the handouts to be the order that you are going to present the content. It was very difficult to listen and gather sample fabric, instructions and patterns while listening and trying to take notes.
-- Either reduce the class size or both Louise and Sandy should walk around the room to review the work for a better student:instructor ratio and attention.

I still give the workshop the highest rating because I did learn a lot. The three links below are my blog posts with several of the tips that I learned.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns
Web site

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews

Login to Add a Comment    
PatriciaM said... (5/4/11 1:36 PM) Reply
What a thoughtful review! Many thanks - you covered it all - a very balanced picture of these classes.
craftinginmycave2 said... (9/10/10 4:48 PM) Reply
@ktsews2: Thanks for the suggestion. Both about Linda Lee's combo class w/ Louise and the Mimosa pants. I had thought about looking into it, since I enjoy Louise's personality. I'm just not a pants gal...I wear skirts 98% of the time. Dresses or skirts. I showed up to bowling night one time with a t-shirt dress on, having forgot to put leggings on. Of course, that was the night that I hit the foul line and had to roll over without showing my undies! LOL But I'll look into the Mimosa pants. Thanks!
ktsews2 said... (9/10/10 4:06 PM) Reply
craftinginmycave2, I guess I'm a woman of certain age...........LOL. I hear you about elastic waists. You might enjoy the Seminar with Louise and Linda Lee from the Sewing Workshop. Linda is rather petite, has great ideas and techniques. One pattern that comes to mind is the Mimosa. The pants are great and no elastic waist, rather resting alittle below,(no "muffin top") the waist. Some others patterns are flat front and back elastic, abit more flattering. Just a suggestion.
Jane S said... (9/10/10 11:58 AM) Reply
Thank you for such a detailed review and wonderful blog. I'm considering going to camp one of these days and your review will help a sewing friend decide if she will benefit also. I'm eager to support sewing teachers in their endeavors to keep these wonderful resources available to us.
craftinginmycave2 said... (9/10/10 10:00 AM) Reply
@ktsews2: Don't get me wrong, I absolutely LOVED Louise and Sandy's samples. They just weren't for me. I think my small group determined that I might not be in the target market of, as Louise refers to them "women of a certain age." It's also a personal thing that I don't like elasticized waistbands. But, I did buy a couple of the patterns that I will enjoy making. I don't mean to reference "groupie" in a very bad way, although, it does sound like it, doesn't it? I was just taken aback a little at how people just knew every pattern by name. I had never seen anything like that except for hanging out with my football friends who can cite every Bears player and play for the past twenty years.
ktsews2 said... (9/10/10 9:29 AM) Reply
I enjoyed reading your review and blog and picked up some pointers that were not discussed in the first "Camp". I guess I was pretty lucky because the first group had only 19 "campers". Fortunately we did not have any "needy" people. Many of us were returning campers (groupies) and it was fun meeting our old friends. I stayed for the extra day which was for people planning to teach Louise's techniques. Information on how to price, scheduling classes and working with shop owners etc. We also received all patterns and a syllabus containing information related to teaching each pattern..........well worth the extra expense. I am surprised you think her patterns are just for resort wear. Most of the gals in our seminar were not from the south, but from the Midwest and most all of us are not fans of shoulder pads either. Once you find your correct size, if you still feel overwhelmed by fabric you can adjust it in "no-mans" land as Louise pointed out. Glad you enjoyed the seminar.
Diane333 said... (9/10/10 7:52 AM) Reply
Informative review and so well organized! I too have attended a Louise Cutting class and thought a smaller class and perhaps a pattern or two that didn't resemble resort wear to choose from.
Diane333 said... (9/10/10 7:52 AM) Reply
Informative review and so well organized! I too have attended a Louise Cutting class and thought a smaller class and perhaps a pattern or two that didn't resemble resort wear to choose from.
AnneMarie60 said... (9/9/10 1:37 PM) Reply
Excellent review and blog entries. I attended intensive sewing classes recently and encountered some similar problems! Those squeaky wheels always get the grease, don't they?
Aixoise said... (9/9/10 1:34 PM) Reply
What a terrific review. Thanks! I, too, am a great fan of Louise "The Steam-a-Seam Queen" Cutting's techniques. For now, I'll just have to watch her Threads videos again.
monijo said... (9/9/10 10:40 AM) Reply
Your blog is impressive. I had a wonderful, informative time. It has great style.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Ashland Dress Pattern

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.