SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Spray Adhesive to Secure Sew-In Interfacing

Viewed 5587 times
Posted by: ValerieJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ValerieJ star
PA USA
Member since: 6/14/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/12/10 3:54 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
I HATE sew-in interfacing. No matter how careful I am, by the time I have basted it in place I either have some kind of bubble or pucker, or at least one edge is really wonky.

Today while working on KwikSew 3756 I was trying to baste sew-in interfacing to a small facing and getting really frustrated. Because the pieces were small, and my fabric is a knit, everything was sliding all over the place. I finally grabbed my can of spray adhesive, gave the interfacing a few shots, and was able to stick the interfacing and fashion fabric together very easily. Once they were stuck together, it was easy to overcast the bottom edge of the facing. A bonus is that I was able to eliminate basting, which was going to require additional work later on to carefully remove.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Really great idea. Thanks.
10/11/10 1:05 PM
ValerieJ said...
I can't remember the brand name, and I'm at work, so I can't look it up. It's in a green can and I bought it at Hancock's quite a few years ago (seems to last forever). It's the kind of spray adhesive you use for machine embroidery, so something like Sulky 505 would work.
9/16/10 8:02 AM
Laurie Lou said...
GIGI...good idea...yes post back and let us know the name of the products. See, you aren't the only one with this issue. :) I'd prefer this over fusible interfacing...
9/15/10 2:48 PM
ChristineBR said...
Thanks for this. Should help make things easy.
9/13/10 6:27 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Great idea!
9/13/10 12:58 PM
JEF said...
Great idea!
9/13/10 10:32 AM
OP Gal said...
Oops, double post!
9/13/10 9:33 AM
OP Gal said...
I've sworn off of fusible interfacing because no matter what I do, it bubbles. I'm interested in finding anything that makes sewing in interfacing easier. This is a welcome tip. I'd be interested in knowing the brand, too.
9/13/10 9:33 AM
JoaniesJosh said...
What spray adhesive do you use? I like your method very much.
9/13/10 9:20 AM
elsew said...
what a wonderful tip.
9/13/10 9:05 AM
ValerieJ said...
deesews, it's not permanent and it eventually wears off even if you don't wash it. In fact, my recollection is that the directions say not to wash it immediately, although I might be thinking of something else (and I'm at work, so I can't check on that right now).
9/13/10 8:54 AM
Baychel3 said...
Fabulous tip! It's so obvious -- one wouldn't think about it!! Thanks for sharing!
9/13/10 8:01 AM
deesews said...
Is this a permanent spray-on adhesive, or will it wash out? If it is permanent, how is this different from using fusible interfacing? I'm very interested in your comments. Thank you!
9/13/10 0:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.